Author Topic: Why did my survey ship break down  (Read 1885 times)

Offline wessel (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • w
Why did my survey ship break down
« on: April 16, 2016, 04:29:36 PM »
Hello, I am new to Aurora.   I've played for about 25 years in game time.   Both of my sensor ships have broken down and I can't seem to figure out why. 

These two sensor ships were the basic first ships, so each has a conventional engine, a sensor, extra fuel for range, and a 120 month deployment time.   So yea I am sure they are classed as a commercial ship for maintenance purposes, I just checked.   In both ships suddenly all of the crew quarters broke down, causing all of the people on board one ship to die since I had no other ships nearby; the other ship is parked on an asteroid and no personel has died yet. 

So at the time they broke down the crew(mnth) timer in the taskgroup window was over the 120 months deployment time of the ship and my morale was very low.   As far as I could find out this only affects survey speed and does not influence ship breakdown.   Also, my ship with a still living crew is not able to get of the asteroid since the max speed has been reduced to 1.   Arguably, since the lifesupport of the crew quarters does not work anymore all engine power is rerouted to life support, but I do not know if it works like this ingame. 

Also I'd like to repair the ships and take them home.  How would I go about doing that (without a tractor beam).  Can I transport new crew and maintenance supplies to the stranded ship to get it back to earth and like refit or scrap it there?
« Last Edit: April 16, 2016, 04:32:00 PM by wessel »

Offline Garfunkel

• Registered
  • Admiral of the Fleet
Re: Why did my survey ship break down
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2016, 10:02:24 PM »
Could you post the design of your ships here?

Offline wessel (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • w
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2016, 03:55:10 AM »