Author Topic: Installation Problems  (Read 3180 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline sloanjh

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 2628
  • Thanked: 22 times
    • View Profile
Installation Problems
« on: January 24, 2010, 01:50:42 PM »
Placeholder thread for questions from users who have read the "Getting the game to run" FAQ and still can't get Aurora to work.
 

Offline Balibar

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2010, 04:14:10 AM »
I am having the missing 'MSSTDFMT.DLL' problem.  I have XP 32.  Any suggestions?
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Posts: 6470
  • Thanked: 813 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2010, 04:39:01 AM »
Quote from: "Balibar"
I am having the missing 'MSSTDFMT.DLL' problem.  I have XP 32.  Any suggestions?
Have you read the "Getting the game to run" FAQ?

Steve
 

Offline Balibar

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2010, 04:53:19 AM »
Quote from: "Steve Walmsley"
Quote from: "Balibar"
I am having the missing 'MSSTDFMT.DLL' problem.  I have XP 32.  Any suggestions?
Have you read the "Getting the game to run" FAQ?

Steve
Yes. The FAQ pointed somebody to a download for VISTA.  I need the missing DLL file for XP 32.  Any suggestion?
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Posts: 6470
  • Thanked: 813 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #4 on: January 25, 2010, 05:07:36 AM »
Quote from: "Balibar"
Quote from: "Steve Walmsley"
Quote from: "Balibar"
I am having the missing 'MSSTDFMT.DLL' problem.  I have XP 32.  Any suggestions?
Have you read the "Getting the game to run" FAQ?

Steve
Yes. The FAQ pointed somebody to a download for VISTA.  I need the missing DLL file for XP 32.  Any suggestion?
I assume it's the same file but it might be worth doing a google search to be sure.

Steve
 

Offline Balibar

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #5 on: January 25, 2010, 06:22:46 AM »
Quote from: "Steve Walmsley"
I assume it's the same file but it might be worth doing a google search to be sure.

Steve
For what it is worth, I scanned the zip and the extracted DLL with McAfee and McAfee did not find anything.  However, dropping the DLL into the Aurora directory did not solve the problem.  The same error occurs when trying to access the 'System' screen.  For some reason, after running Aurora with the DLL in the Aurora directory makes the IE menu look funny when you click 'File', 'Edit', etc.  The problem goes away after a power off.  

I am going to see if somebody at work can get me the DLL.
 

Offline Balibar

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2010, 06:49:09 AM »
It is the same file for XP.  I moved the file from the Aurora directory to the windows/system32 directory and ran the rsvr32 program.  That fixed the problem and the 'System' screen comes up in game.  

The background color for sub-menu items has changed on IE and in game.  It is more of a grey than a white.  Easy to read, though.
 

Offline boggo2300

  • Registered
  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 806
  • Thanked: 10 times
    • View Profile
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2010, 03:52:10 PM »
yeah the drop into the game directory only seems to work in Vista / 7  And thats the same file I'm using on a 32 bit xp machine, a 64 bit vista and a 64 bit 7 machine, so it seems a bit general purpose.

Matt
The boggosity of the universe tends towards maximum.
 

Offline blue emu

  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 334
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #8 on: January 14, 2012, 10:10:26 PM »
For what it is worth, I scanned the zip and the extracted DLL with McAfee and McAfee did not find anything.  However, dropping the DLL into the Aurora directory did not solve the problem.  The same error occurs when trying to access the 'System' screen.  For some reason, after running Aurora with the DLL in the Aurora directory makes the IE menu look funny when you click 'File', 'Edit', etc.  The problem goes away after a power off.  

I am going to see if somebody at work can get me the DLL.

That's the correct .dll file, but Windows can be picky.

After dropping that .dll into your windows/system32 folder, run the command shell as Admin (Start Menu, All Programs, Accessories, right-click on the Command Prompt and choose "Run as Admin") then use the ls and cd commands to navigate to your windows/system32 folder and type:

regsvr32 msstdfmt.dll

That should get you going.

[edit: fixed]
« Last Edit: January 14, 2012, 10:14:06 PM by blue emu »
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5006
  • Thanked: 78 times
    • View Profile
    • Arkayn Game Design
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #9 on: January 14, 2012, 10:12:00 PM »
After dropping that .dll into your windows system folder, run the command shell as Admin (Start Menu, All Programs, Accessories, right-click on the Command Prompt and choose "Run as Admin") then use the ls and cd commands to navigate to your windows system folder and type:

regsvr msstdfmt.dll

That should get you going.


Might need regsvr32
 

Offline blue emu

  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 334
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Re: Installation Problems
« Reply #10 on: January 14, 2012, 10:13:02 PM »
Aaaarg, yes. The correct command is regsvr32 msstdfmt.dll

Sorry.
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51