Author Topic: Is it possible to mine moons which are impossible to colonize?  (Read 3839 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Foolcow

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
I know moons can be colonized if the gravity is in the right range, and asteroids can be mined with asteroid mining modules.   

But how do you extract minerals from moons if the gravity makes them impossible to colonize?
 

Offline Charlie Beeler

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1381
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to mine moons which are impossible to colonize?
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2011, 05:08:16 PM »
That's what automated mines are for.
Amateurs study tactics, Professionals study logistics - paraphrase attributed to Gen Omar Bradley
 

Offline ZimRathbone

  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 326
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to mine moons which are impossible to colonize?
« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2011, 05:11:50 PM »
Yes.

Use Automated Mines (ship them there using freighters) and use a Mass Driver to send the minerals back to the planet where youre going to use them.  Make sure that you also have a Mass Driver on this planet to catch the mineral packets.
SlĂ inte,

Mike
 

Offline Sheb

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 789
  • Thanked: 30 times
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to mine moons which are impossible to colonize?
« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2011, 06:10:13 PM »
And if you use a mass driver, be very cautious not to remove the one on your planet. I made a mistake (ordered a freighter to pick up 2 instead of 1) and lost around 10m pops, 1 lab, 15 factories, 2 academis, a dozen mines....
 

Offline Shipright

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • Posts: 52
  • Thanked: 13 times
    • View Profile
Re: Is it possible to mine moons which are impossible to colonize?
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2013, 08:47:46 PM »
Can't you also create a station with a habitability module loaded with population and tow it into orbit to then operate regular mines? Probably not the best option economically.
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5010
  • Thanked: 81 times
    • View Profile
    • Arkayn Game Design
Re: Is it possible to mine moons which are impossible to colonize?
« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2013, 10:34:54 PM »
Can't you also create a station with a habitability module loaded with population and tow it into orbit to then operate regular mines? Probably not the best option economically.

You can, but as you note not the best option economically.
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51