Author Topic: Will SA work in Windows 7?  (Read 979 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tregonsee

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Will SA work in Windows 7?
« on: January 22, 2012, 03:52:57 PM »
I currently have a laptop that is a dual-boot XP/Vista.  The only reason why I have not changed everything to Windows 7 is that I don't know how well SA and Windows 7 work together.  Does anyone know?

 

Offline Shinanygnz

  • Lieutenant
  • *******
  • Posts: 175
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Re: Will SA work in Windows 7?
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2012, 03:38:30 PM »
I think so.  I have it installed on my Windows 7 64 it system and it loads at least, which lets me look at my old Haggi campaign stuff.  Haven't tried to run a turn end though.
I also think a lot of the dlls and so forth are shared with Aurora (VB6), so if you install it somewhere other than Program Files, you should be OK.
The Win7 install topic will likely help with any fixes.  I have a feeling I had to find a dll or ocx file to make it work.

Stephen
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Posts: 6511
  • Thanked: 853 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Will SA work in Windows 7?
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2012, 11:27:47 AM »
If Aurora works then Starfire Assistant should work too. They are both the same (very old :)) technology and same install program

Steve
 

Offline Tregonsee

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Re: Will SA work in Windows 7?
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2012, 11:42:36 AM »
Thanks for the vote of confidence.
 

Offline sloanjh

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 2637
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
Re: Will SA work in Windows 7?
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2012, 10:22:37 AM »
I think so.  I have it installed on my Windows 7 64 it system and it loads at least, which lets me look at my old Haggi campaign stuff.  Haven't tried to run a turn end though.
I also think a lot of the dlls and so forth are shared with Aurora (VB6), so if you install it somewhere other than Program Files, you should be OK.
The Win7 install topic will likely help with any fixes.  I have a feeling I had to find a dll or ocx file to make it work.

Stephen

I started up an SA campaign on my 64-bit win7 box about 6 months ago and didn't notice any OS problems.  As Stephen says, you should never ever install Aurora/SA in Program Files on a win7 box :)

John
 

Offline Tregonsee

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Re: Will SA work in Windows 7?
« Reply #5 on: February 02, 2012, 11:51:01 AM »
I rarely put things in program files.  Out of curiosity, why would putting it there be bad?
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5011
  • Thanked: 81 times
    • View Profile
    • Arkayn Game Design
Re: Will SA work in Windows 7?
« Reply #6 on: February 02, 2012, 12:22:57 PM »
I rarely put things in program files.  Out of curiosity, why would putting it there be bad?

Vista/Win7 really locks down the Program Files structure. Makes it very hard to upgrade Aurora/SA by copying the new exe/database into the program directory. Even if it looks like is has succeeded, it rarely does.
 

Offline Rane

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Will SA work in Windows 7?
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2014, 12:06:23 PM »
Ive run it on Win7 and Win 8. 1 and had no issues with it on root of c: (C:\sa) or under program files. 
 

Offline sloanjh

  • Global Moderator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 2637
  • Thanked: 24 times
    • View Profile
Re: Will SA work in Windows 7?
« Reply #8 on: August 23, 2014, 08:48:46 AM »
Ive run it on Win7 and Win 8. 1 and had no issues with it on root of c: (C:\sa) or under program files.  

We had a TON of "I just installed Aurora and it doesn't work right" posts due to this (copy protection of program files) ~3-4 years ago IIRC.  So now we just tell people not to do it.  I suspect the reason it might work for you and not for others has to do with the vagaries of admin privileges, but it's a lot simpler just to advise people to avoid the potential problem altogether.

John

PS - And now that I've actually read the back-thread, I realize you were probably just adding a data point.  Leaving my post in though, since I still think people are better off avoiding the issue completely.
« Last Edit: August 23, 2014, 08:55:11 AM by sloanjh »
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51