Author Topic: aurora on MacOS?  (Read 996 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline joeclark77

  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 335
    • View Profile
aurora on MacOS?
« on: February 05, 2017, 12:09:56 PM »
Hi guys, work has switched me to a Mac, which I haven't had as my main computer for 15 years or more.  I used to play Aurora on my PC and would like to play again... Can any of you tell me how, if it's possible, to install and run Aurora on a Mac?
 

Online 83athom

  • Big Ship Commander
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1198
  • Thanked: 79 times
    • View Profile
Re: aurora on MacOS?
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2017, 07:01:45 PM »
Got to use a virtual machine of some sort.
Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day, but set fire to him and he's warm for the rest of his life.
 

Offline MarcAFK

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1707
  • Thanked: 59 times
  • ...it's so simple an idiot could have devised it..
    • View Profile
Re: aurora on MacOS?
« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2017, 11:38:47 PM »
Got to use a virtual machine of some sort.
If it's a work pc you might have trouble running a VM depending on it's security settings.
What happened to your old work pc? Maybe it's in a dumpster somewhere?
" Why is this godforsaken hellhole worth dying for? "
". . .  We know nothing about them, their language, their history or what they look like.  But we can assume this.  They stand for everything we don't stand for.  Also they told me you guys look like dorks. "
"Stop exploding, you cowards.  "
 

Offline joeclark77

  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 335
    • View Profile
Re: aurora on MacOS?
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2017, 07:07:29 AM »
The old work machine is at the previous job, and you couldn't make me go back for anything.
 

Offline Bughunter

  • Captain
  • **********
  • Posts: 584
  • Thanked: 32 times
    • View Profile
Re: aurora on MacOS?
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2017, 09:12:48 AM »
The old work machine is at the previous job, and you couldn't make me go back for anything.

When C# Aurora is out you will be begging to come back  :) ..or you could get Virtualbox or whatever VM you have available on Mac running an old Win 7 image. Will probably take some tinkering but seems like the only practical solution unless you want to get another computer. Personally I dual-boot Windows anyway, but I'm not on a Mac.
 

Offline ChubbyPitbull

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: aurora on MacOS?
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2017, 09:57:16 AM »
Has anyone tried a VM, or Parallels on the Mac? I have a Windows machine at work but it's very outdated; the faster processors and SSD on the work mac I have would be great for those longer running games, if the VM doesn't ding performance too much.
 

Offline Iranon

  • Captain
  • **********
  • Posts: 460
  • Thanked: 31 times
    • View Profile
Re: aurora on MacOS?
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2017, 10:55:30 AM »
You could try WINE, a compatibility layer that allows many Windows programs to run under other operating sytems. This worked well enough for me under Linux some years ago.
 

Offline joeclark77

  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 335
    • View Profile
Re: aurora on MacOS?
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2017, 02:35:47 PM »
I guess I've got to come up with a business justification for buying Parallels.  I don't think the department manager will authorize it just to play a productivity-killing game at the office...
 

Offline albertismo

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: aurora on MacOS?
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2017, 11:56:04 AM »
you can check with wine
https://appdb. winehq. org/objectManager. php?sClass=version&iId=33254
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51