Author Topic: Designing ship hulls instead of ships  (Read 963 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tree

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • Posts: 53
  • Thanked: 10 times
    • View Profile
Re: Designing ship hulls instead of ships
« Reply #15 on: August 25, 2017, 03:54:47 AM »
I still don't see how there'd be any difference with the current Refit button. I can upgrade only engines just fine, or copy a design and replace the guns just fine already, or copy my colony ships and make the newly created a variant a cargo ship.

how unsatisfying designing a ship actually is.
That's like, your opinion, man. Designing ships yourself is one of the best parts of Aurora.
 

Offline obsidian_green

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • Posts: 67
  • Thanked: 8 times
    • View Profile
Re: Designing ship hulls instead of ships
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2017, 07:44:08 PM »
I still don't see how there'd be any difference with the current Refit button. I can upgrade only engines just fine, or copy a design and replace the guns just fine already, or copy my colony ships and make the newly created a variant a cargo ship.

I think several of us are talking about the "additional eligible classes" we can build (we find them on the DAC tab of class design window) when a shipyard is tooled for a specific ship class. Counter-intuitively we can't really design a stripped-down basic frame and build variations from it at added cost.
 

Offline El Pip

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • Posts: 38
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • View Profile
Re: Designing ship hulls instead of ships
« Reply #17 on: September 06, 2017, 02:10:01 AM »
Counter-intuitively we can't really design a stripped-down basic frame and build variations from it at added cost.
You can't do that, but you can produce an over-designed frame and then build variants of it at standard cost - I had a ~4kt hull full of grav and geo sensors that I used to build 3.5kt grav specific or geo specific survey ships.

Personally I prefer that approach, you take the cost/time hit upfront in getting the shipyard re-tooled but can then churn out ships at standard cost. Feels more accurate to me, you would need lots of additional tooling and so on at the yard to produce all those variants, but the cost of the ship wouldn't actually change.
 

Offline Tree

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • Posts: 53
  • Thanked: 10 times
    • View Profile
Re: Designing ship hulls instead of ships
« Reply #18 on: September 06, 2017, 03:33:34 AM »
I think several of us are talking about the "additional eligible classes" we can build (we find them on the DAC tab of class design window) when a shipyard is tooled for a specific ship class. Counter-intuitively we can't really design a stripped-down basic frame and build variations from it at added cost.
I think the "if two ships are similar enough, you can build both in the same yard" is plenty intuitive already. Plus yards are clearly specialized by class, makes sense you wouldn't be able to build wildly different ships from just one unless both ships were designed for that from the beginning, making them effectively variants of one another. Which means the game already handles what the OP wanted.
 

Offline obsidian_green

  • Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • ****
  • Posts: 67
  • Thanked: 8 times
    • View Profile
Re: Designing ship hulls instead of ships
« Reply #19 on: September 07, 2017, 01:00:36 AM »
You can't do that, but you can produce an over-designed frame and then build variants of it at standard cost - I had a ~4kt hull full of grav and geo sensors that I used to build 3.5kt grav specific or geo specific survey ships.

Yeah that's true, but I haven't found it as easy to plan ahead with the current setup. Sometimes we're building those shipyards in advance of the designs. I also have a resistance to designing a ship I know I won't build just so I can get a multipurpose shipyard out of the deal. That may just be a hang up I should get over; the rationale you give makes a lot of sense.

I think the "if two ships are similar enough, you can build both in the same yard" is plenty intuitive already. Plus yards are clearly specialized by class, makes sense you wouldn't be able to build wildly different ships from just one unless both ships were designed for that from the beginning, making them effectively variants of one another. Which means the game already handles what the OP wanted.

I'm not a supporter of what the OP wanted and agree that the game already handles it. A lot of the previous posts were about additional eligible classes, so I (probably mistakenly) thought you were addressing that. I'd prefer the mechanics behind that were tweaked along lines I and some other posters suggested, not that stock hulls should be a game feature. I love the way ship design current works.
 

Offline El Pip

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • Posts: 38
  • Thanked: 4 times
    • View Profile
Re: Designing ship hulls instead of ships
« Reply #20 on: September 07, 2017, 01:35:54 AM »
I also have a resistance to designing a ship I know I won't build just so I can get a multipurpose shipyard out of the deal. That may just be a hang up I should get over; the rationale you give makes a lot of sense.
I somewhat understand that issue, so I make it explicit and give the first design name like "32kT Basic Hull" and make them utterly impractical as useable ships.

My RP thinking is that the it's not designing a ship, it's designing a basic hull/frame and tooling the shipyard for that. That's why I'm not opposed to the idea of designing hulls, I just think we already have a perfectly good mechanism for doing that already.
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51