Author Topic: Adding new ship names  (Read 2312 times)

Offline 83athom (OP)

• Big Ship Commander
  • Vice Admiral
Adding new ship names
« on: December 08, 2014, 08:35:15 AM »
Hello there, I am wondering how exactly to add new ship names with a step by step explanation. I know that your supposed to add a file called <InsertShipType>.txt (InserShipType being anything) in the install directory with one ship name per line (with no special characters) but I cannot quite get it right. The most helpful post I found was on Create New class and ship name by Bartimeus in mid 2011 (but still didn't explain it enough). I am a computer noob and I was surprised I got Aurora to install at all a year and a half ago. So could someone give a tutorial on how to do it (short as possible while still explaining where things go) not just for me but any other Aurora/Computer Newb that would need/want it.
Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day, but set fire to him and he's warm for the rest of his life.

Offline Rich.h

• Captain
  • R
Re: Adding new ship names
« Reply #1 on: December 08, 2014, 05:12:24 PM »
Are you using the option under the "game" heading from the main window? Normally you just do the following.

1. Create a text file in your main Aurora install directory called "ShipNames.txt"
2. The file has to be made so you use one line for each name (I do not know about special characters)
3. From the main game window (the first bar that appears after selecting a game), go to game then "add ship names"

Offline 83athom (OP)

• Big Ship Commander
  • Vice Admiral
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2014, 05:45:36 PM »