Author Topic: How do civvies choose which trade run when presented with multiple options?  (Read 1799 times)

Offline Xenogenic (OP)

• Leading Rate
Hi Guys,

I'm fairly new to Aurora and have been getting by by just searching existing posts.

But now I couldn't find the answer on the forum or the wiki:

My Civvies only seem to trade between Earth and Mars.  Venus and Mercury also have a demand for infrastructure, and sometimes are even closer in orbit than Mars, but they still only trade with Mars.

I have a commercial spaceport on Earth and on Mars.  Do they factor loading time into the calculation as well?

I wanted to ask before expending the resource to build a spaceport on all the other colonies.

It would make sense for them to prefer sites with a better port system. . .

Offline Steve Walmsley

• Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
Civs don't factor in loading time.

When you say a 'demand for infrastructure', is that a based on government contracts or normal trade?

Steve

Offline Xenogenic (OP)

• Leading Rate
Just normal trade supply.   I haven't used contracts for infrastructure, just my own freighters. 

Infrastructure Supply (available for export):
Earth: 479

Infrastructure Demand:
Mars: 2836
Mercury: 673
Venus: 465

Will they always look for the highest demand? At some points in the year they could sell that same load of infrastructure on a much shorter run to Mercury or Venus, depending on the planet's positions.

Edit: I guess I should add the civvie colony ships work just fine.  They distribute the colonists evenly.  But I've had to set up a freighter task group to handle the infrastructure runs for Venus and Mercury manually.  The demand shown above is despite this task group's operation (the civvies have A LOT of colony ships).
« Last Edit: May 20, 2012, 11:23:46 AM by Xenogenic »

Offline xeryon

• Captain