Author Topic: Agressive Negotiations  (Read 4154 times)

Offline Adseria (OP)

• Warrant Officer, Class 1
Agressive Negotiations
« on: October 02, 2018, 10:54:20 AM »
First things first; I am VERY new to this game.  I started my first game a week ago, and it's only 2046 now, so quite early on.  I haven't even left my home system except to explore, and one abortive battle against what I assume are some precursor ships or something (it didn't go well  :D)

So, quite early on (2033), I met a new race, the Church of Antilles (or "CoA"), made contact and assigned a diplomatic team.  Soon, I found a system (with the wonderfully memorable name of NN-3182) with a planet that was 0 colony cost.  Assuming that it was their home system, and not wanting to upset them until our diplomacy could get somewhere, I immediately turned my ship around and left the system.

A few years go by.  I give them trade access (they don't return the favour), and I build a better ship.  I decide to go and have a poke around in their home system again.  Now, since this happened, I did some Googling, and found out that AIs normally don't take kindly to this.

It was quite odd.  My ship was orbiting what I think was their homeworld, when suddenly I get a message; 2 missiles had been fired at my ship.  Luckily, one of them had been shot down by my CIWS, and the other missed, but the strange bit is that the CoA didn't become hostile to me (yet).  Even so, I decided discretion is the better part of valour, and set course back to the jump point.  This course took me straight past a group of their ships (mostly 10k tons, plus a single 20k ton ship (yes, I use tons.  Sue me)).  I assume this was their main battle fleet, because it was heading straight for me.