Author Topic: Defence against AMM swarms (vs ship)?  (Read 2208 times)

Offline AnthonyT (OP)

• Leading Rate
  • A
Defence against AMM swarms (vs ship)?
« on: November 11, 2011, 03:20:40 PM »
I'm new to the game.  This is only my second play, with the first being cut short after a few hours.

I'm flummoxed by a rash of AMM fire abraiding my ships to nothing, whereas the 700+ size 3-5 missiles preceeding this only left a few small dents.

First encounter with this enemy was our survey ships being scrubed out by clouds of missiles (really!? one each would have been sufficient).  So I built my first military ships in response: my offensive tech is purely laser, so I tried point-defense heavy.  Second encounter and each paired-salvo of 14 size4 missiles ravaged my new ships, ending the battle in minutes at a range of 40mkm.  Though I learned through that experience that I needed to assign weapon systems to fire-control.  Heehee, oops. . .

Now I'm on round three.  A couple more ships with more PD turrets and everyone refitted with shields (Delta300/14, varying from 15-25 strength).  FIVE hours of clicking the time increments and crashing through these paired salvos, coming in at a rate of 28 per 5 or 10 seconds. . .  I was only scratched.

Then at 14mkm. . .  salvos of 53 size1 AMM, also at 5-10s intervals.  I hope this requires significantly advanced tech to achieve, because there is nothing I can figure out to stop it.  First, PD is useless.  Where I'd shoot down at least 20 of the size3-5 missiles, here I shoot maybe 8 of these AMM. . .  leaving 45 to dissipate shields in one go and erode armor.

After more than 3000 of these AMM, my fleet of 12 is now spread in a line of wreckage across 2mkm of space on a vector toward these rock-slingers.  I'm now 7 hours of time (IRL) into this click-fest, with 3 ships remaining. . .  pretty much held together by sputtering shields.