Author Topic: Very new here, how do i design a ship?  (Read 1773 times)

Offline billyfig (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • b
Very new here, how do i design a ship?
« on: March 31, 2012, 05:12:54 PM »
I just started playing and all i can do is research so far

Offline DFDelta

• Chief Petty Officer
Re: Very new here, how do i design a ship?
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2012, 06:25:27 PM »
First you have to research the technologies you want to use in a certain ship component. (e.g. Fuel useage and engine type for an engine)

Then you have to design the ship components, if you are in the research tab it is one of the many buttons on the bottom of the menu. I think its "Design Tech".

There you design a "blueprint" for a component (for example a engine) that must then be researched. (The engine would then be amongst the many other researches in power&propulsion.)

Once the "blueprint" is researched you can put that component on your ship designs in the F4 menu.

In short:
1.) Research tech for component
2.) Design component "blueprint"
3.) Research "blueprint"
4.) Put component on ship design.

Constant optimism will not solve your problems, but it will annoy enough people to be worth the effort.

Offline Erik L

• Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2012, 08:31:00 PM »
The wiki has a good (though somewhat out-dated) tutorial. http://aurorawiki.pentarch.org/index.php?title=Basic_Ship_Creation

Offline Nathan_

• Pulsar 4x Dev
  • Commodore
  • N
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2012, 06:52:12 PM »