Author Topic: Newbie questions: CIWS and missile sensors  (Read 2230 times)

Offline Jovus (OP)

• Lt. Commander
  • J
Newbie questions: CIWS and missile sensors
« on: August 10, 2017, 11:54:17 PM »
Total newbie here; so sorry if this is in the wrong place.  It seemed the most fitting.

I have two unrelated questions.

1) CIWS requires several techs.  Turret tracking speed is one of them.  The rest of them, I can clearly see the changes different choices make in the tech design screen, but I don't see any difference for turret tracking speed at all.  Is this a bug? Does it do something I'm missing? I'd expect it to change the tracking speed stat, or make the turret HS smaller, but I see nothing.

2) From the wiki:

Quote from: Aurora 4x Wiki
The most simple missile designs have no sensors at all.  They are guided to the target by the firing ships' fire control.  If that fire control is destroyed or you lose the active sensor contact (usually because another salvo already destroyed the target), the missiles self-destruct. 

. . .

A missile with a sensor will not look for new targets until the original target contact is lost, in which case it will continue to fly toward the last known location while in search mode.  It will engage any enemy contact it can find.  If it reaches that location without finding a new target, it self-destructs. 

Could I, to avoid wasting missiles, put a tiny, tiny sensor onboard, too small to be useful for much if the enemy's not absurdly tightly grouped, just to keep the missiles from self-destructing while the fire control finds another firing solution and then directs the in-flight missiles toward it? Another way to ask the question: once a missile's own sensors take over, will it take direction from an FC ever again?

If I could do this, could I do it with passive sensors, or do they need to be active?

Offline TheBawkHawk

• Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • T
Re: Newbie questions: CIWS and missile sensors