Author Topic: Community game redux  (Read 2794 times)

Offline Panopticon (OP)

• Gold Supporter
  • Rear Admiral
  • P
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
Community game redux
« on: August 15, 2011, 03:52:00 PM »
As the previous community game seems to have petered out I thought I'd try to gauge interest in another one, albeit with somewhat different parameters.

I've been running this style with my friends for a few months and it seems to work pretty well, basically each player plays the role of a single faction and sets general policy and direction for the faction, IE their international policy, general trends in research, and long term goals of exploration. They hammer out agreements with each other in public forums or private messages and give their results and decisions to me via PM, then I advance time and work on the details.

My latest game with my friends included a mercantile oriented Arab empire. A xenophobic and hostile Holy European Empire, and the ever practical Russians. They each took distinctly different paths into space and squabbled, spied on, and traded with each other while doing so. For my part I designed the ships, ran the combat, and the exact details of construction and research, I also designed a Pirate fleet composed of ships stolen from all the factions based out of Titan and ran that as a villain till they got their act together and blew them away.

Would anyone be interested in playing this type of community game?

Offline dalord0

• Chief Petty Officer
  • d
Re: Community game redux
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2011, 04:06:19 PM »
I would be very interested.  :)

Offline Father Tim

• Vice Admiral
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2011, 06:05:31 PM »