Author Topic: Keeping the books ballanced  (Read 2148 times)

Offline voknaar (OP)

• Lt. Commander
Keeping the books ballanced
« on: March 13, 2011, 08:47:12 AM »
So I've been playing for 4 months or so, off and on and played lots of scenarios learning different aspects of the game. Promptly forgetting them the next day. More lately on a game I've had minor success at missile combat which was hugely satisfying and helpful to experience. Although that was my only taste for bloodshed I've dispensed on targets it was a SM'd force so much of the victory was in the "i can actually command my men to do something successfully!" type of deal.

I seem to be hitting a brick wall as to how to fully balance the books keeping a military exploring expanding and colonising. I was wondering how some of the pros cope with keeping everything afloat. I had a game i abandoned because I had the worst possible luck in regards to minerals in the Sol system. So bad was my organisation and colony management i had lost four size 10k destroyers which was my first military ships, due to severe maintenance issues which in turn was due to a lack of 3 or 4 different mineral incomes in any serious capacity.

I know how to get colony's running and have had some minor amusement from the civilian sector but I've yet to be able to use them anywhere near as effectively as many people seem to be able to do. :( Some tips or what not to do's and advice will be very much appreciated

Offline sloanjh

• Global Moderator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: Keeping the books ballanced
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2011, 10:58:59 AM »
First, part of the whole intent of Aurora was to make it difficult to do the balancing act.  Steve wanted players to be making difficult tradeoffs all the time.