Author Topic: Time step and inconsistencies  (Read 2127 times)

Offline jseah (OP)

• Captain
  • j
Time step and inconsistencies
« on: March 31, 2011, 09:14:17 AM »
Using a different timestep seems to have different effects.  

Currently, I'm in my 2nd year of a 5.42 game and hurriedly trying to prevent my empire from getting in debt.  
I have one non-homeworld colony in the same moon system as the homeworld.  
The construction interval is 86 000.  

There is this very curious effect.  
My income is net +10 to +40 per 24 hours if I use auto-turn and hit 8 hours.  
My income is -20 to -30 per 24 hours if I use auto-turn and hit 1 day.  

After watching my civilians run about for a few weeks in game, I think I've tracked down the problem.  
Essentially, whenever cargo freighters dock at my homeworld to pick up infrastructure, they take 1 time step to go from [move to colony Nilosia] to [Load trade goods at colony Nilosia].  
If I hit 1 day, that is 1 day, if I hit 8 hours, that is 8 hours.  

So I'm currently playing at 8 hours timestep since that's the only thing keeping my empire above 0 wealth (currently at ~40 wealth)
At least until homeworld runs out of infrastructure, but I should have the next economic tech done by then.  

Is this behaviour a bug?  Or just a necessary concession?

Offline sloanjh

• Global Moderator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: Time step and inconsistencies
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 07:45:28 PM »
Using a different timestep seems to have different effects.  

*SNIP*

Is this behaviour a bug?  Or just a necessary concession?