Author Topic: ridiculously large orbit  (Read 2314 times)

Offline Deoxy (OP)

• Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • D
ridiculously large orbit
« on: April 05, 2011, 10:19:24 AM »
Obligatory "I'm a newbie" comments, yada yada yada.  I played MoO 2 WAY too much back in the day, and this seems like a GREAT upgrade.   Yay.   I'm new.

OK, that out of the way, the reason for this post is something odd that I found. . .  a 3-star system where the third star is orbits at 18400 AUs.   It's orbital period is 4634765 Earth years.   Just getting to it (@ 5000 km/s) would take something like 7000 days.   Of course, that doesn't really matter, since it errors if I try to plot a course there, anyway. . .

There are a couple of Lagrange points in the system, but none of them around that star, so that doesn't help.

I looked at The Space Race, and the largest orbit in there was just over 1000 AUs, and it drops off quick after that. . .  is this some kind of bug?  Or just a really rare normal thing?

It's really annoying - I like to get everything surveyed, and that's just NOT going to happen with this. . .

Well, unless I hack the database. . .  which is tempting.   

Oh, and (further newbieness) is there a listing of the tech and prereqs somewhere?  That would be convenient. . . .  (if there isn't, would it be OK for me to build one from the database info and post it for newbies like me?)

Offline Erik L

• Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: ridiculously large orbit
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 12:08:55 PM »
It's a rare and normal thing.