Author Topic: RE: Self-Jump Drives, Compact Jump Drives  (Read 1219 times)

Offline xenoscepter (OP)

• Vice Admiral
RE: Self-Jump Drives, Compact Jump Drives
« on: March 27, 2021, 08:57:12 PM »
Related post here: http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php?topic=10640.msg150010#msg150010

- In the above reply, I mentioned Compact Jump Drives as a concept, as well as a dedicated "Self-Jump" type. I aim here to flesh out that idea. To wit:

--- The "Self-Jump" option is the one I like the most and the idea I'm most attached to. I'm no coder, but it seems to me the simplest solution, easiest to implement and elegant to boot. Well, so says I at least. :P In the reply above I went into having "Squadron Jump Size 3" as the pre-requisite. However, while I see that as the simplest to implement of the ideas I put forward, I like this one far more. When the player researches "Jump Drive Efficiency 4", in addition to that tech, two more are unlocked with it. The first being "Squadron Size 'Self-Jump'" which lowers the Jump Drive size to 0.75 of a normal one, giving an effectively 25% cheaper Drive for 25% more efficiency. The second being a "Squadron Jump Range '0km'" option for Squadron Jump Range, which gives 0.75 again, but limits the drive to coming out right on top of the Jump Point. Squadron Jump would still reduce the Jump Shock, but if the JP was guarded... well, good luck! ;D