Author Topic: My first Missile PDC  (Read 3318 times)

Offline Zorbeltuss (OP)

• Leading Rate
  • Z
My first Missile PDC
« on: July 31, 2012, 03:56:59 AM »
So I've never used PDC or missiles before so this is a first draft of a planetary defence, my missiles are big as they are based on the ICBM size for flavour, otherwise pretty much anything is replaceable, this is also 10 year of research.
Code: [Select]
Espalmador class Planetary Defence Centre    6 350 tons     881 Crew     1144.6 BP      TCS 127  TH 0  EM 0
Armour 5-30     Sensors 1/315     Damage Control Rating 0     PPV 72
Magazine 504   

PDC Size 24 Missile Launcher (3)    Missile Size 24    Rate of Fire 90
Missile Fire Control FC189-R100 (1)     Range 189.0m km    Resolution 100

Active Search Sensor MR189-R100 (1)     GPS 31500     Range 189.0m km    Resolution 100

This design is classed as a Planetary Defence Centre and can be pre-fabricated in 3 sections
With the missiles
Missile Size: 24 MSP  (1.2 HS)     Warhead: 5    Armour: 0     Manoeuvre Rating: 39
Speed: 27500 km/s    Endurance: 8 minutes   Range: 12.5m km
Cost Per Missile: 12.975
Chance to Hit: 1k km/s 1072.5%   3k km/s 351%   5k km/s 214.5%   10k km/s 107.2%
Materials Required:    1.25x Tritanium   28.35x Gallicite   Fuel x2500

Development Cost for Project: 1298RP
Is this a good or a bad PDC, also I'm thinking that as the planetary sensors exist, I needn't worry about Thermal or EM sensors, is that a correct assumption?

/Zorbeltuss

Offline icecoldblood

• Warrant Officer, Class 1
Re: My first Missile PDC
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2012, 05:00:38 AM »
I have no idea where you got the idea for size 24 missiles.  Any missile larger than size 9 that isn't a drone/buoy just isn't worth it and is overkill at best.  It also has a rather terrible range for a ASM and the enemy could easily stay outside your missile range and fire his own missiles and with a warhead of only 5 it's impotent at best.