Author Topic: Turn resolving  (Read 3327 times)

Offline Ekaton (OP)

• Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • E
Turn resolving
« on: January 06, 2016, 06:18:22 PM »
Hi, I'm new to the game and it's absolutely amazing, but I've noticed a weird thing - turns that are resolving 5 days take actually longer time to process by the computer than those that are 30 days and there is not that much of a difference in time between 1 day and 30 days (both of which, on average, take about 3 minutes to process).  I am about 40 years into the game and set the starting population of Earth to 7 billion, perhaps this can be causing it somehow? Setting construction time to twice the default one seemed to help a bit initially with the performance in comparison to my previous games but not much. 

After patching the game to the most recent one yesterday I've started noticing overflow bugs in Production and minerals after about 30 years into the game. 

And finally my question is - is this working as intended? Should 5 day turn take longer to resolve than 30 day one?

PS.  Using this forum is very difficult, I'm getting Internal Server Errors all the time.  Is it like that all the time?

Offline MarcAFK

• Vice Admiral
  • ...it's so simple an idiot could have devised it..
Re: Turn resolving
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2016, 06:35:31 PM »
The forum host appears to be running the forum on an apple IIe or similar :(
But seriously there's something wrong with the software that's caused minor problems untill recently when Auroras popularity spiked, I've no idea when it'll get fixed.
Turn processing always takes longer as a game continued, civilian shipping and NPRs in particular cause the most slowdown.  I'm not sure why 5 day ticks are taking longer though, that's pretty unusual, perhaps a bug?