Author Topic: Error 713  (Read 5898 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline WHCnelson

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • W
  • Posts: 80
Error 713
« on: December 04, 2011, 06:08:36 PM »
I just got my computer fixed and downloaded the Aurora 5.54 full install and when I hit F9 to to a system planetary window I get the following Error message: 

ERROR 713

Class not registered...  You need the following file to be installed on your machine MSSTDFMT.DLL.    Please report to Aurora2.pentarch.org/viewforum.php?f=11       



Help please
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Thanked: 103 times
    • Arkayn Game Design
Re: Error 713
« Reply #1 on: December 04, 2011, 07:04:38 PM »
From the main bug thread.

This is a common issue and a simple search of the forums would give a few fixes.

The one that works for everybody is to install this http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-shutdown-timer and then uninstall it if you want, it leaves the DLL. I used it on my laptop, didn't need it on my desktop because I had Office2003 installed on it.

Steve can't do anything about it because of the way the old VB application installer works.
 

Offline ardem

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • a
  • Posts: 771
  • Thanked: 13 times
Re: Error 713
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2012, 11:06:53 PM »
I had this problem on a New Windows 7 64bit / Office 2010 and aurora install

Above solution works
 

Offline darkrider2

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • d
  • Posts: 9
Re: Error 713
« Reply #3 on: March 11, 2012, 11:02:12 AM »
This worked for me as well, thanks :D
 

Offline quarague

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • q
  • Posts: 5
Re: Error 713
« Reply #4 on: March 17, 2012, 07:27:32 AM »
When I tried to open the system view F9 I had the 713 bug about a missing dll, the solution posted here worked for that. 
But now when I try to open system view I get
Error 76
Path not found: Planetjpeg\ha3. jpg

This crashes the game, clicking ok will just make the error pop up again immediately. 
The game is right in the sense that there is no path Planetjpeg and no file ha3. jpg
In fact there are no subfolders at all in the Aurora folder.
I installed the v5. 54 full install and then the v5. 60 patch.

Thanks

PS: why can I not post new topics in the bug sections?
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Thanked: 103 times
    • Arkayn Game Design
Re: Error 713
« Reply #5 on: March 17, 2012, 08:08:00 AM »
When I tried to open the system view F9 I had the 713 bug about a missing dll, the solution posted here worked for that. 
But now when I try to open system view I get
Error 76
Path not found: Planetjpeg\ha3. jpg

This crashes the game, clicking ok will just make the error pop up again immediately. 
The game is right in the sense that there is no path Planetjpeg and no file ha3. jpg
In fact there are no subfolders at all in the Aurora folder.
I installed the v5. 54 full install and then the v5. 60 patch.

Thanks

PS: why can I not post new topics in the bug sections?

Did you extract the extra zip files from the full install? Those should contain the planets and medal files.

PS. No one can create new topics in bugs except moderators to keep issues in threads appropriate to the version.
 

Offline quarague

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • q
  • Posts: 5
Re: Error 713
« Reply #6 on: March 17, 2012, 08:16:11 AM »
thanks, works now, must have overlooked this on during installation, amazing the game starts fine and half of it works with all this data missing
 

Offline ollobrains

  • Commander
  • *********
  • o
  • Posts: 380
Re: Error 713
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2012, 09:35:17 PM »
mmm anywhere ican find thse planet and medal files they dont appear in the full install files from what i can see like a seperate download having the same problem the 76 error after i fixed the 713 error
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5110
  • Thanked: 103 times
    • Arkayn Game Design
Re: Error 713
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2012, 10:12:14 PM »
mmm anywhere ican find thse planet and medal files they dont appear in the full install files from what i can see like a seperate download having the same problem the 76 error after i fixed the 713 error

There are a couple zip files in the full install. You need to manually unzip them to the aurora install folder.
 

Offline Hawkeye

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1043
  • Thanked: 2 times
Re: Error 713
« Reply #9 on: May 17, 2012, 12:18:38 AM »
It´s the "AuroraUpdateXXX.zip file (XXX being the version).
After extracting it, there will be "Flags", "Medals", "Planetjpeg", "Races" and "Ships" folders as well as Aurora.exe and Stevefire.mdb
Just copy and paste all of this into your Aurora folder.
Ralph Hoenig, Germany
 

Offline ollobrains

  • Commander
  • *********
  • o
  • Posts: 380
Re: Error 713
« Reply #10 on: May 26, 2012, 02:24:35 AM »
the only error messge i get now is about /flags not being found when opening galaxy map, it opens after 4 clicks and then every refresh can play around it though thats with 5.6
 

Offline Iunnrais

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • I
  • Posts: 3
Re: Error 713
« Reply #11 on: June 03, 2012, 02:26:33 PM »
Thanks for this post.   Any chance that the DLL could be included in the default install?
 

Offline Grigio87

  • Lieutenant
  • *******
  • Posts: 162
Re: Error 713
« Reply #12 on: August 16, 2012, 09:27:44 AM »

Whit http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-shutdown-timer  System View works, now i can see the planet <3 !
 

Offline nachocapo98

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • n
  • Posts: 1
Re: Error 713
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2017, 08:35:18 PM »
i downloaded this and it worked the first time and the next time i tried to open the tab the error popped up again, i reinstalled the program and aurora several times and i could not make it work again pls help
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52