Author Topic: If perfect is the enemy of the good....  (Read 3259 times)

Offline Texashawk (OP)

• Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • T
If perfect is the enemy of the good....
« on: December 29, 2018, 01:00:42 PM »
... then what is the harm in releasing what you have as sort of an evolving alpha? I’m sure you would get a lot of feedback (probably more than you want!) and in the meantime people could enjoy at least a part of the new version, with the understanding that they probably shouldn’t undertake a long campaign! As a fellow developer, I too struggle with ‘don’t release until it’s perfect and I’ve added the ten million things I want’ urge but I have come to learn that people prefer many small updates over one ginormous update every six months or a year. Thoughts?

The following users thanked this post: Agoelia

Offline Erik L

• Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: If perfect is the enemy of the good....
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2018, 02:15:54 PM »
The first release should probably be in a mostly (90%+) workable state. I have no idea where Steve is at on that state.

Offline QuakeIV

• Registered
  • Commodore
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2018, 03:36:37 PM »
Eh, I think if he gets stalled he should let us fiddle with what he's got.  Otherwise it most likely doesn't really matter that much whether he releases now or releases later, in terms of how the final product looks.

Offline Father Tim

• Vice Admiral
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2018, 06:20:10 PM »
... then what is the harm in releasing what you have as sort of an evolving alpha? I’m sure you would get a lot of feedback (probably more than you want!)