Author Topic: Newbie questions  (Read 1348 times)

Offline Oflor (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • O
Newbie questions
« on: March 05, 2013, 10:39:12 AM »
I recently started playing Aurora and this game is cool.   By this time I understand most of civilian stuff like terraforming but I've got some questions about ships. 
1) What types of military ships should I build? (I didn't encounter any NPR yet and I want to be ready for it)
2) How can I defence my planets? Perhaps PDCs with missile launchers?
3) What is optimal speed and range for long-range and short-range missiles?
4) Should I equip my survey and scout ships with jump-engine or I can build jump-gates everywhere?
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 11:11:58 AM by Oflor »

Offline Konisforce

• Sub-Lieutenant
Re: Newbie questions about ship designs
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2013, 10:48:49 AM »
General answers, no doubt someone will get more specific on things.

1) Military ships: generally the wisdom is that missile ships are stronger tactically, beam ships are stronger strategically.  Meaning that missiles are great in a fight but it's really tough to carry around a lot of extra missiles.  For your first ships, I'd recommend you go for missile ships.

2) PDCs are a good choice, certainly, and for missile launchers, the PDC versions are quicker to reload.  Really only good for big investment planets.  Ships are a good choice because they can go where the trouble is.