Author Topic: Time Warp attack by aliens!  (Read 1544 times)

Offline mckamx (OP)

• Chief Petty Officer
  • m
Time Warp attack by aliens!
« on: February 08, 2011, 04:49:12 PM »
I am a noob, playing my first campaign.

One of my GeoSurvey ships (unarmed) has encountered an (apparently) unarmed ship belonging to an advanced hostile alien race.    Apparently this is an advanced machine intelligence, because they have managed to slow my quite powerful computer to running at slower than real time!

What I think is happening is that the alien wants to attack my ship, but can't.    However, the desire for battle is causing a system interrupt every 60 seconds.   Currently, turns are taking about 75 seconds to complete.   Since my GeoSurvey ship is about 2 days from the nearest jump point, it looks like it will take about 54 hours of (real) run time before I can break contact and speed the game back up.   I have thought about abandoning the ship, but I would really rather not.    I looked for a way to damage my own sensors (if I couldn't see the alien, maybe the interrupts would decrease), but found that I don't have any sensors except for the GeoSurvey sensors on the ship.

Does anyone know of a way to defeat these time-warping aliens?

Offline Starkiller

• Lt. Commander
  • S
Re: Time Warp attack by aliens!
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2011, 05:54:41 PM »
Hmmm. That doesn't sound like the alien ship that you see is causing it.
It sounds like a couple of NPRs are 'mixing it up' off camera. You apparently
have a fight going on betwwen two NPRs. There's a setting you can check by
the time keys on the system map, on the right side. Can't remember what it's
called, but it stops any interrupts not related to you.

Eric

Offline Tarran

• Warrant Officer, Class 1
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2011, 06:42:01 PM »
Quote from: Starkiller link=topic=3221.   msg30968#msg30968 date=1297209281
Hmmm.    That doesn't sound like the alien ship that you see is causing it.