Author Topic: "safe" comets  (Read 1847 times)

Offline Caplin (OP)

"safe" comets
« on: July 13, 2010, 04:03:02 PM »
Hi,
I'm attracted by the idea of comet mining.  Some of the ones in Sol seem to have
abundant high accessibility minerals.  
The problem is that I don't seem to have a way to judge orbital paths.  It's one of the few truly visual things on the map.
Is there another way of judging whether a comet will stay in system long enough to be useful?  Is there any way this might be represented in text somehow?
It would help my current mineral-starved position considerably.
Best and thanks,
Zack.

Offline UnLimiTeD

• Vice Admiral
  • U
Re: "safe" comets
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2010, 05:32:41 PM »
I think that Info should be somewhere.
However, if you use Automines and mass drivers, in the worst case, the resources will take a half year to reach you.

Offline Zed 6

• Sub-Lieutenant
  • Z
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2010, 08:52:09 PM »
Hi  I'm a newbie myself. 75 years into my first game.  I started out with 3 comets in the Sol system. 2 outside of Pluto and one way way outside of Pluto. Comets do have hi accessibility. Pluto is 6 billion km, Comet 1 and 3 are 8 and 9 billion km out.  Comet 2 is 48 billion km out. The F9 page - System generation and Display shows the values for comets. Comets are listed at the end of the list. The Atmospheric Composition column will list the Aphelion distance for any comet. The next column lists the Current Orbital Distance. On the system map page F3, the All Bodies tab does not list comets ( possibly an oversight), but if you are able to click on a comet, Body info will give you some other info about that comet. primarily the bodies year, in the case of my comet 2, 2526 years.

I thought like you do that the comet would be long gone. but 75 years in the life of a 2500+ year comet is miniscule. Either way, I found that you don't really need to absolutely know the orbital period for some good mining. Some additional tips: