Author Topic: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition  (Read 354286 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Froggiest1982

  • Gold Supporter
  • Vice Admiral
  • *****
  • F
  • Posts: 1332
  • Thanked: 591 times
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1125 on: January 13, 2021, 02:54:49 PM »
I was playing with the passive sensors today while designing a new strategy for one of the race of my upcoming new game and so I have been building Deep Space Tracking Stations to then go around and deploy in my test game to also check logistic and so on.

Bottom line, I now have a Strength of 27,000 on the planet. Based on the current formula

Code: [Select]
Signature strength x Sensor strength x 1000 km
My detection against a 10 signature should look like this: 10 x 27,000 x 1,000 and equal to 270,000,000. The problem is that if I check Aurora flagging the 10 band I get 130,000,000 (displayed 130m) and also all the other signature at 1,000 and 10,000 are not matching.

I am sure I am missing something somehow, but what?
The formula is sqrt, not linear.

Detection Range = SQRT(Passive Sensor Strength * Target Signature ) * 250,000 km

http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php?topic=8495.msg103085#msg103085

Thanks, you know the funny thing? I was literally looking at it and completely missed the second line!

 ???

Offline xenoscepter (OP)

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1155
  • Thanked: 317 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1126 on: January 14, 2021, 04:45:10 PM »
 - I have a Size 16 Fighter Pod Bay, if I stuff two Size 8 Fighter Pods into it, will they both fire or will one of them not fire? Unlike missiles I've found that I can mount 2 fighter pods into a single bay if they'll fit, so I'm curious.
 

Offline Droll

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • D
  • Posts: 1704
  • Thanked: 599 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1127 on: January 14, 2021, 04:51:21 PM »
- I have a Size 16 Fighter Pod Bay, if I stuff two Size 8 Fighter Pods into it, will they both fire or will one of them not fire? Unlike missiles I've found that I can mount 2 fighter pods into a single bay if they'll fit, so I'm curious.

I would like to know the answer to this as well - this sounds great
 

Offline Froggiest1982

  • Gold Supporter
  • Vice Admiral
  • *****
  • F
  • Posts: 1332
  • Thanked: 591 times
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1128 on: January 14, 2021, 04:58:43 PM »
- I have a Size 16 Fighter Pod Bay, if I stuff two Size 8 Fighter Pods into it, will they both fire or will one of them not fire? Unlike missiles I've found that I can mount 2 fighter pods into a single bay if they'll fit, so I'm curious.

I would like to know the answer to this as well - this sounds great

http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php?topic=9792.msg106084#msg106084

This should be tested. However, based on the framework you should be able to fire only the amount of pods as your amount of launchers. They are considered Ordnance so I think what is happening is the below:

The Launcher provides magazine space so if you have a launcher size 1, you will have 1 space of ammunition permitting you to load 0.5 times 2 pods. I am unsure if this is happening with missiles as well and there is a string of code preventing this behavior. If that so, this is probably a bug as you should not be able to use launcher size as true magazine space.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2021, 05:01:45 PM by froggiest1982 »
 

Offline xenoscepter (OP)

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1155
  • Thanked: 317 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1129 on: January 14, 2021, 05:12:36 PM »
- I have a Size 16 Fighter Pod Bay, if I stuff two Size 8 Fighter Pods into it, will they both fire or will one of them not fire? Unlike missiles I've found that I can mount 2 fighter pods into a single bay if they'll fit, so I'm curious.

I would like to know the answer to this as well - this sounds great

http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php?topic=9792.msg106084#msg106084

This should be tested. However, based on the framework you should be able to fire only the amount of pods as your amount of launchers. They are considered Ordnance so I think what is happening is the below:

The Launcher provides magazine space so if you have a launcher size 1, you will have 1 space of ammunition permitting you to load 0.5 times 2 pods. I am unsure if this is happening with missiles as well and there is a string of code preventing this behavior. If that so, this is probably a bug as you should not be able to use launcher size as true magazine space.

 - How would one test this?
 

Offline Froggiest1982

  • Gold Supporter
  • Vice Admiral
  • *****
  • F
  • Posts: 1332
  • Thanked: 591 times
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1130 on: January 14, 2021, 05:25:54 PM »
- I have a Size 16 Fighter Pod Bay, if I stuff two Size 8 Fighter Pods into it, will they both fire or will one of them not fire? Unlike missiles I've found that I can mount 2 fighter pods into a single bay if they'll fit, so I'm curious.

I would like to know the answer to this as well - this sounds great

http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php?topic=9792.msg106084#msg106084

This should be tested. However, based on the framework you should be able to fire only the amount of pods as your amount of launchers. They are considered Ordnance so I think what is happening is the below:

The Launcher provides magazine space so if you have a launcher size 1, you will have 1 space of ammunition permitting you to load 0.5 times 2 pods. I am unsure if this is happening with missiles as well and there is a string of code preventing this behavior. If that so, this is probably a bug as you should not be able to use launcher size as true magazine space.

 - How would one test this?

Be at war with a faction and be involved into ground combat then have 1 fighter with normal launcher and another with pod launcher and see what happens.

The loadout "bug" could be tested without the need of a war as you can load the ordnance regardless.

Offline xenoscepter (OP)

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1155
  • Thanked: 317 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1131 on: January 14, 2021, 05:56:00 PM »
 - AHA! You can't assign two of them to the same Fighter Pod Bay. :3 SO it doesn't work. I'll fill out a bug report later. :)
 

Offline Froggiest1982

  • Gold Supporter
  • Vice Admiral
  • *****
  • F
  • Posts: 1332
  • Thanked: 591 times
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1132 on: January 14, 2021, 06:23:26 PM »
- AHA! You can't assign two of them to the same Fighter Pod Bay. :3 SO it doesn't work. I'll fill out a bug report later. :)

However, I think that this is the correct behavior. You have a size 16 launcher (Bay in the case of Pods) and only 1 whatever size less or equal to 16 should be able to load.



from you previous post:

- I have a Size 16 Fighter Pod Bay, if I stuff two Size 8 Fighter Pods into it, will they both fire or will one of them not fire? Unlike missiles I've found that I can mount 2 fighter pods into a single bay if they'll fit, so I'm curious.

it looks like you could already fit 2 pods in one launcher (Bay), which you should not.

Now I am confused...

 ???

Also you should test against missile launchers as well.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2021, 06:26:00 PM by froggiest1982 »
 

Offline RougeNPS

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • R
  • Posts: 217
  • Thanked: 38 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1133 on: January 14, 2021, 11:52:36 PM »
Does anyone actually use particle beams/lances? If so, what are they actually useful for? I rarely (I dont think i have ever seen.) see them brought up in any discussion.
 

Offline Black

  • Gold Supporter
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • B
  • Posts: 868
  • Thanked: 218 times
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    2023 Supporter 2023 Supporter : Donate for 2023
    2024 Supporter 2024 Supporter : Donate for 2024
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1134 on: January 15, 2021, 04:27:14 AM »
Does anyone actually use particle beams/lances? If so, what are they actually useful for? I rarely (I dont think i have ever seen.) see them brought up in any discussion.

Particle weapons are good for sniping as they do same amount of damage for the whole weapon range. Laser for example have lower damage further away from the target you are. On the other hand, particles cannot be turreted so they are unsuitable for point defence.
 

Offline Squigles

  • Chief Petty Officer
  • ***
  • S
  • Posts: 40
  • Thanked: 11 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1135 on: January 15, 2021, 05:45:59 AM »
Does anyone actually use particle beams/lances? If so, what are they actually useful for? I rarely (I dont think i have ever seen.) see them brought up in any discussion.

Plasma weaponry lives or dies by speed. If you’re faster than your target you can hold the range at the edge of your envelope. At this range you will massively out dps any other beam weapon that can reach you. If you’re slower, your only real hope is that your opening strike, which should deal significantly more than the opfor’s, will swing the fight enough in your favor before they close range.

Plasma Lances on the other hand are simply fantastic. The earliest Lance you can build deals 12 damage all to a single armor column, so if it has 11 or less layers of armor you score internal on the 1st shot. I love combining them with rail beam fighter swarms. Leaves a couple of gaping wounds for rail shots to hit without sandpapering the armor off.
 

Offline Borealis4x

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 717
  • Thanked: 141 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1136 on: January 15, 2021, 08:01:53 AM »
Is it practical to put thermal reduction on large, overclocked capital ship engines?
 

Offline Droll

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • D
  • Posts: 1704
  • Thanked: 599 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1137 on: January 15, 2021, 08:47:20 AM »
Is it practical to put thermal reduction on large, overclocked capital ship engines?

No
 

Offline Borealis4x

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 717
  • Thanked: 141 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1138 on: January 15, 2021, 09:00:34 AM »
Is there any way to auto-assign civilian to sectors and academies?

My poor sector governor, who is the only level 10 admin, keeps being re-assigned to a rock in the middle of nowhere instead of leading humanity like he should :(

Same with the Dean of the Luna Kennedy Center for Public Policy. Reassigned to a frigid moon.
 

Offline Droll

  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • D
  • Posts: 1704
  • Thanked: 599 times
Re: Questions Not Worth Their Own Thread: C# Edition
« Reply #1139 on: January 15, 2021, 09:01:31 AM »
Is there any way to auto-assign civilian to sectors and academies?

My poor sector governor, who is the only level 10 admin, keeps being re-assigned to a rock in the middle of nowhere instead of leading humanity like he should :(

Same with the Dean of the Luna Kennedy Center for Public Policy. Reassigned to a frigid moon.

No

but in 1.13 your assigned sector admins and academy commandants will become immune from auto-assign so will not be randomly reassigned without your say so