Author Topic: Colony mass  (Read 2221 times)

Offline Erik L (OP)

• Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Colony mass
« on: April 11, 2012, 01:54:05 PM »
I was talking to a friend and we were discussing a settlement on Deimos. Deimos is small. 12km diameter and 1.48 x10^15 kg in mass. The question came up if a sizable settlement on the moon would disrupt its orbit enough to cause the orbit to decay. I know we've got rocket scientists and physics types on the board here. Anyone have an idea?

The settlement in question is 5 million people with 125,000 tons of initial infrastructure.

Offline xeryon

• Captain
Re: Colony mass
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2012, 02:02:24 PM »
I am not a rocket scientist or physics major but I too have been amused by the apparent lack of population limits on small bodies in the universe.  I have just started to build up a colony on a body that is very small (numbers are not in front of me) and was wondering if there was an actual cap that no one has mentioned in the forums.  Searching had revealed nothing so far. 
Likewise the size of the body really should have a weighted effect on terraforming as well, but that might be a topic for a different thread.

Offline Steve Walmsley

• Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2012, 02:47:53 PM »
I was talking to a friend and we were discussing a settlement on Deimos. Deimos is small. 12km diameter and 1.48 x10^15 kg in mass. The question came up if a sizable settlement on the moon would disrupt its orbit enough to cause the orbit to decay. I know we've got rocket scientists and physics types on the board here. Anyone have an idea?