Author Topic: Rise of the Wrix  (Read 21584 times)

Offline Rabid_Cog (OP)

• Commander
Rise of the Wrix
« on: June 19, 2012, 03:15:09 PM »
I am rather new to these here forums, seeing as a number of people have posts from as far back as 2006, but reading all the (mostly) excellent fiction posted here has inspired me to try my hand at it.   I have always regarded myself as reasonably literate, so I hope it will not be too offensive to the eyes. 

The basic premise for my game is thus:
Sol starts are boring.   Unless you are doing multi-faction or non-earth games, Sol starts are all the same.   So that was out. 
Instead, I wondered what it would be like to play the other side of the coin.   Instead of playing the daring earthlings attempting to face the horrors of the deep unknown, how about playing one of those horrors trying to eat all the squishy earthlings? Surely the Bugs from Steve's Rigellian campaign (some inspiration there) did not start out as the menace they became? What was their story?

While a hive-mind race was tempting, it made for very boring storytelling and as you might have noticed by now, I bore easily.   Instead, the more fragmented and broken the leadership, the more space exists for intrigue and politics.   Thus were born the Wrix. 

Introduction