Author Topic: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread  (Read 35114 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • S
  • Posts: 7122
  • Thanked: 2040 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« on: August 03, 2011, 02:54:21 PM »
Please post confirmed bugs for v5.50 in this thread. However, please read the guidelines below on reporting bugs before posting.

Bug Reporting Guidelines

Steve
« Last Edit: December 27, 2011, 07:03:13 AM by Steve Walmsley »
 

Offline Sloshmonger

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • S
  • Posts: 79
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2011, 04:03:08 PM »
Easily first.

Carry over from v5. 42, also in v5.5

Auto-assigned research causes "Expand Civilian Economy by 20%" to only have initial 20000RP project if computer picks it (unknown if computer doesn't pick it).   This causes the entire research line to forever be lost (minus database manipulation).

Manually picking that 20000RP project and giving Instant does not cause issue.

Steps:
1) Create new game.
2) Give 5000 starting pop and choose tech auto-assign. Don't need to change anything else.
3) Proceed through new game setup
4) ??????
5) Profit is hard to come by

Edit:

Actually, there are potentially more issues with that research project.  After granting creating a new game and granting the 20kRP project, then deleting that game, when I open a new game the first project in that line available is 40kRP.  Granting this, deleting game, and creating new one and it's at 40kRP again.
« Last Edit: August 03, 2011, 04:13:01 PM by Sloshmonger »
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5145
  • Thanked: 115 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2011, 05:43:25 PM »
Created a new game.

Created a freighter with a max speed of 3267 km/s and a colony ship with speed 3266 km/s.
The TG the ships are assigned to have a max speed of 13068 km/s.
Designs below.
Code: [Select]
Ark class Colony Ship    51,663 tons     2823 Crew     7243 BP      TCS 1033.25  TH 13500  EM 0
3266 km/s    JR 3-25(C)     Armour 1-311     Shields 0-0     Sensors 1/1/0/0     Damage Control Rating 1     PPV 0
MSP 22    Max Repair 272 MSP
Colonists 300000    Cargo Handling Multiplier 15   

JC56K Commercial Jump Drive     Max Ship Size 56000 tons    Distance 25k km     Squadron Size 3
Saeder Propulsion ION-C Drive (90)    Power 150    Fuel Use 8%    Signature 150    Armour 0    Exp 1%
Fuel Capacity 50,000 Litres    Range 5.4 billion km   (19 days at full power)

This design is classed as a Commercial Vessel for maintenance purposes
Code: [Select]
Mule class Freighter    51,650 tons     2593 Crew     4378 BP      TCS 1033  TH 13500  EM 0
3267 km/s    JR 3-25(C)     Armour 1-311     Shields 0-0     Sensors 1/1/0/0     Damage Control Rating 1     PPV 0
MSP 13    Max Repair 272 MSP
Cargo 75000    Cargo Handling Multiplier 15   

JC56K Commercial Jump Drive     Max Ship Size 56000 tons    Distance 25k km     Squadron Size 3
Saeder Propulsion ION-C Drive (90)    Power 150    Fuel Use 8%    Signature 150    Armour 0    Exp 1%
Fuel Capacity 50,000 Litres    Range 5.4 billion km   (19 days at full power)

This design is classed as a Commercial Vessel for maintenance purposes
 

Offline Sloshmonger

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • S
  • Posts: 79
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2011, 05:46:28 PM »
Possibly connected with above:

Version 5.5

In the Class Design (F5) screen:

The visual weight in the Full Summary View is not correct for some classes. 

It's showing a weight much less than the Exact Class Size (which appears to be correct)

Reproduce:
1) Create new game with no auto-tech or auto-ship
2) Open Class Design screen
3) Create New ship.
4) New ship size will be listed as 63 tons.
 

Offline ardem

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • a
  • Posts: 773
  • Thanked: 17 times
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #4 on: August 04, 2011, 12:56:47 AM »
Incorrect version naming:

Aurora.exe file, in both the properties of the exe and the versioning in the 'About' window and also the 'Opening' window, are set to 5.42 and not 5.5 version.

I say the correct version has been packed but the version numbers not been updated.

Error on creating new game

Error in Setup NPRClasses

Error 3201 was generated by DAO.Recordset
You cannot add or change a record because a related record is required in table 'Techsystem'.


I had this issue in 5.42 as well, you click 'OK' four times with this message appearing four times, but it eventually makes a new game.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2011, 01:07:31 AM by ardem »
 

Offline Vynadan

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • V
  • Posts: 255
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #5 on: August 04, 2011, 07:42:27 AM »
Two designs with identical components have different weights. The only difference between the two is the classing as commercial or military vessel (here grav and geo survey sensors respectivly).
In the case of the commercial vessel the engines and the jump drive seem to be significiantly lighter, although the speed and 'exact class size' is calculated correctly. The TCS is different, however.
Haven't built these designs yet so I don't know if this is just a visual bug with weight or perhaps connected with the speed issues mentioned by Erik.

Quote from: Commercial
Zambia II class Geosurvey Ship    1,038 tons     111 Crew     503 BP      TCS 20.75  TH 500  EM 0
6024 km/s    JR 1-25(C)     Armour 1-23     Shields 0-0     Sensors 1/1/0/5     Damage Control Rating 1     PPV 0
MSP 76    Max Repair 300 MSP

Sutton Carrier Alliance Commercial Jump Drive 4500     Max Ship Size 4500 tons    Distance 25k km     Squadron Size 1
NQEA Internal Confinement Fusion Drive (2)    Power 250    Fuel Use 4%    Signature 250    Armour 0    Exp 1%
Fuel Capacity 100,000 Litres    Range 1084.3 billion km   (2083 days at full power)

Phased Geological Sensors (1)   5 Survey Points Per Hour

This design is classed as a Commercial Vessel for maintenance purposes

Quote from: Military
Turkmenistan II class Gravsurvey Ship    4,150 tons     111 Crew     503 BP      TCS 83  TH 500  EM 0
6024 km/s    JR 1-25(C)     Armour 1-23     Shields 0-0     Sensors 1/1/5/0     Damage Control Rating 1     PPV 0
Maint Life 0.96 Years     MSP 76    AFR 137%    IFR 1.9%    1YR 80    5YR 1194    Max Repair 300 MSP

Sutton Carrier Alliance Commercial Jump Drive 4500     Max Ship Size 4500 tons    Distance 25k km     Squadron Size 1
NQEA Internal Confinement Fusion Drive (2)    Power 250    Fuel Use 4%    Signature 250    Armour 0    Exp 1%
Fuel Capacity 100,000 Litres    Range 1084.3 billion km   (2083 days at full power)

Phased Gravitational Sensors (1)   5 Survey Points Per Hour

This design is classed as a Military Vessel for maintenance purposes

*edit*
I've tried exchanging the engines (for ion engines) and the military/commerical classification reason to weapons. In both cases the weight was calculated correctly for the military vessel. I don't know the code, but I guess this pins  the reason down to be something with the classification.

*edit2*
Applied speeds during surveys etc. match that of correctly calculated weight, if I look at the ship details (F6) the max speed is however listed as 24096 km/s (Zambia II class).

In F12 the speed seems to be the correct one (6024) unless clicking on the ship in F6:
The Zambia II 001 I checked for its max speed can now fly at 24096 while the Zambia II 002 I haven't yet clicked in F6 can only fly at 6024.
Activating the Zambia II 002 in F6 allowed it to fly 24096 km/s which it now does automatically if I give it any orders.
« Last Edit: August 04, 2011, 10:24:27 AM by Vynadan »
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • S
  • Posts: 7122
  • Thanked: 2040 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #6 on: August 04, 2011, 12:21:16 PM »
Created a new game.

Created a freighter with a max speed of 3267 km/s and a colony ship with speed 3266 km/s.
The TG the ships are assigned to have a max speed of 13068 km/s.
Designs below.
Code: [Select]
Ark class Colony Ship    51,663 tons     2823 Crew     7243 BP      TCS 1033.25  TH 13500  EM 0
3266 km/s    JR 3-25(C)     Armour 1-311     Shields 0-0     Sensors 1/1/0/0     Damage Control Rating 1     PPV 0
MSP 22    Max Repair 272 MSP
Colonists 300000    Cargo Handling Multiplier 15   

JC56K Commercial Jump Drive     Max Ship Size 56000 tons    Distance 25k km     Squadron Size 3
Saeder Propulsion ION-C Drive (90)    Power 150    Fuel Use 8%    Signature 150    Armour 0    Exp 1%
Fuel Capacity 50,000 Litres    Range 5.4 billion km   (19 days at full power)

This design is classed as a Commercial Vessel for maintenance purposes
Code: [Select]
Mule class Freighter    51,650 tons     2593 Crew     4378 BP      TCS 1033  TH 13500  EM 0
3267 km/s    JR 3-25(C)     Armour 1-311     Shields 0-0     Sensors 1/1/0/0     Damage Control Rating 1     PPV 0
MSP 13    Max Repair 272 MSP
Cargo 75000    Cargo Handling Multiplier 15   

JC56K Commercial Jump Drive     Max Ship Size 56000 tons    Distance 25k km     Squadron Size 3
Saeder Propulsion ION-C Drive (90)    Power 150    Fuel Use 8%    Signature 150    Armour 0    Exp 1%
Fuel Capacity 50,000 Litres    Range 5.4 billion km   (19 days at full power)

This design is classed as a Commercial Vessel for maintenance purposes

Found and fixed. I'll release a v5.51 patch later today

Steve
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • S
  • Posts: 7122
  • Thanked: 2040 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #7 on: August 04, 2011, 12:22:16 PM »
Incorrect version naming:

Aurora.exe file, in both the properties of the exe and the versioning in the 'About' window and also the 'Opening' window, are set to 5.42 and not 5.5 version.

I say the correct version has been packed but the version numbers not been updated.

Yes, that is what has happened. A common error on my part :)

I'll release v5.51 later, which has the correct version numbers

Steve
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5145
  • Thanked: 115 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #8 on: August 04, 2011, 12:56:09 PM »
Semi-bug:

Sent my geo survey squad in for overhaul. Rewind ~2.5 years off the clock. Send them out to explore, and they hit "Transit Failure - too soon" (paraphrase).

What is the time for military jump engines to recycle?
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5145
  • Thanked: 115 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #9 on: August 04, 2011, 01:02:30 PM »
Found and fixed. I'll release a v5.51 patch later today

Steve

You mean they are supposed to be going 13000km/s??

*edit*
Nevermind. The 90 engines jumped their size up to 200k tons.

Edit by Steve to add spoiler tags :)
« Last Edit: August 04, 2011, 01:58:24 PM by Steve Walmsley »
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • S
  • Posts: 7122
  • Thanked: 2040 times
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #10 on: August 04, 2011, 01:57:01 PM »
Semi-bug:

Sent my geo survey squad in for overhaul. Rewind ~2.5 years off the clock. Send them out to explore, and they hit "Transit Failure - too soon" (paraphrase).

What is the time for military jump engines to recycle?

Depends on a few factors but it is the same amount of time as it takes for weapons and sensors.

Steve
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5145
  • Thanked: 115 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #11 on: August 04, 2011, 03:05:39 PM »
Depends on a few factors but it is the same amount of time as it takes for weapons and sensors.

Steve

But it shouldn't be in the months range?
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5145
  • Thanked: 115 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #12 on: August 04, 2011, 03:40:08 PM »
Created a railgun
Code: [Select]
Damage Per Shot (4): 1     Rate of Fire: 5 seconds     Range Modifier: 2
Max Range 20,000 km     Railgun Size: 3 HS    Railgun HTK: 1
Power Requirement: 3    Power Recharge per 5 Secs: 3
Cost: 10    Crew: 30
Materials Required: 2x Duranium  2x Boronide  6x Neutronium

Development Cost for Project: 350RP
However, on the Tech Report window, the max range is listed at 15,000 km.
 

Offline Erik Luken

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5145
  • Thanked: 115 times
  • Discord Username: icehawke
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2011, 06:48:50 PM »
Interesting situation.

This ship design
Code: [Select]
Enterprise class Frigate    5,000 tons     551 Crew     878 BP      TCS 100  TH 90  EM 240
1800 km/s    JR 4-50     Armour 2-26     Shields 8-300     Sensors 18/18/0/0     Damage Control Rating 4     PPV 15
Maint Life 3.41 Years     MSP 439    AFR 50%    IFR 0.7%    1YR 57    5YR 861    Max Repair 272 MSP

J7500(4-50) Military Jump Drive     Max Ship Size 7500 tons    Distance 50k km     Squadron Size 4
Saeder Propulsion ION Drive (3)    Power 60    Fuel Use 80%    Signature 30    Armour 0    Exp 5%
Fuel Capacity 150,000 Litres    Range 67.5 billion km   (434 days at full power)
Gamma R300/16 Shields (4)   Total Fuel Cost  64 Litres per day

Particle Beam-2 (3)    Range 60,000km     TS: 4000 km/s     Power 5-3    ROF 10        2 2 2 2 2 2 0 0 0 0
Hauptman Arms M32-4 FC (1)    Max Range: 64,000 km   TS: 4000 km/s     84 69 53 37 22 6 0 0 0 0
Krupp Power Systems C-18 Plant (1)     Total Power Output 18    Armour 0    Exp 5%

Kirlian Systems Mk 1 Search Scanner (1)     GPS 10500     Range 63.0m km    Resolution 100
Kirlian Systems T18 M-Class (1)     Sensitivity 18     Detect Sig Strength 1000:  18m km
Kirlian Systems EM18 M-Class (1)     Sensitivity 18     Detect Sig Strength 1000:  18m km

This design is classed as a Military Vessel for maintenance purposes
regenerated 69120 pts of shields.

 

Offline ExChairman

  • Captain
  • **********
  • E
  • Posts: 417
  • Thanked: 3 times
Re: Official v5.50 Bugs Thread
« Reply #14 on: August 05, 2011, 01:56:39 AM »
Auto made an empire and was trying to make a MIRV, but my own missiles didnt show up on second stage...
So I checked the computer generated missile and  have all the same they stats, 0 on everything...
When I check the ship design thay all have the right stats for the missile... Warhead, speed, etc.
Veni, Vedi, Volvo
"Granström"

Wargame player and Roleplayer for 33 years...
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53