Author Topic: setting up a scenario  (Read 1226 times)

Offline lordafabie (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • l
setting up a scenario
« on: December 01, 2012, 03:20:59 AM »
Hi, I've been playing this game off and on for a couple of years and understand how most things work pretty well.   But now I have a specific scenario I want to set up, and I'm not even sure it's possible to do.

I want to start as a colony from an inter-stellar empire that collapsed long ago.   Many planets had their entire populations destroyed, and the ones that survived lost the secrets of Trans-Newtonian Technology.   I will be doing a conventional start, my people just on the cusp of re-discovering the ancient secrets of TN-Tech.   A couple of NPRs will have gained the secrets already.

Where I'm having trouble is that I want to place ruins in logical places that are of specific size, and from the same race.   Is this something that can be done with the designer mode password, Or would it require editing the database by hand?  I doubt I would bother with the latter, but access to designer mode might be usefull for other things too.

Any help would be appreciated, and I would like to thank Steve for making this great game available to all of us.

Offline Rabid_Cog

• Commander
Re: setting up a scenario
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2012, 03:25:16 AM »
The exact race of a ruin has no effect on gameplay, although the tech levels do differ I suppose. But wouldn't tech levels differ between far flung colonies of the same empire? If the racial thing still bothers you, pretend that the empire was a multiracial one.

What I suggest is that you manually seed each system you discover with ruins using SM mode. That way you don't have to plan the whole thing out in advance.
I have my own subforum now!
Shameless plug for my own Aurora story game:
5.6 part: http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php/topic,4988.0.html
6.2 part: http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php/topic,5906.0.html

Feel free to post comments!