Author Topic: A large Binary System question  (Read 3068 times)

Offline Arakash (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • A
A large Binary System question
« on: February 18, 2013, 08:37:31 AM »
I just ran into a strange situation that was a first for me, i found a binary system with some habitable planets orbiting both stars, which isnt unusual in my current game, however the distance between the two stars is for me.  The second star orbits at approx 90bil km from the main one, which even at 10k or so seems to be several months travel time one way.
I just today learned about LP's, but there isnt enough super jovians in the system for them.  (i think thats how it works)

I found some posts about hyper drives, which seem to be for this situation but the posts mentioned they were not implemented for 6. 0 but no mention of later versions.

Is anything orbiting the second star in this kind of system a total write off in most situations?
Im very new to the game, so if i misunderstood some mechanics sorry ahead of time.

Offline Nightstar

• Lt. Commander
  • N
Re: A large Binary System question
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2013, 09:11:27 AM »
I'm pretty sure there's nothing you can really do without working hyper drives. I suggest writing it off. :(

Offline Brian Neumann

• Vice Admiral
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2013, 09:38:25 AM »
Any gas giant will have the lp's associated with it.  If there are no gas giants of any type (super jovian or regular gas giant) then you are out of luck.  Look at your F3 (System Map), the Lp's are marked and you will probably need to move and resize the display around to see things clearly.

Brian

Offline Arakash (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • A
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2013, 10:30:24 PM »
Thanks for the replies.
I looked for LP's, other than planets on both stars:
Star A has 1 Gas Giant
Star B has a Gas Giant and a Super Jovian
No LP's appear on ship order screens or on the map.