Author Topic: Windows 7 installation issues  (Read 9552 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Beersatron

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 976
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
Windows 7 installation issues
« on: October 26, 2009, 09:25:53 PM »
I want to put this here so it is easy for people to find.

When trying to open the System View page you may run into a problem with 'msstdfmt.dll'.

I found two things that you can supposedly do when this happens:

1. find a LEGIT and SAFE copy of the file and dump it in your Aurora folder
2. find a LEGIT and SAFE copy of the file place it in your 'c:\windows\system32' folder and then run 'regsvr32' on the file from a cmd prompt

Unfortunately, neither of these worked for me in the end.

What I finally got to work was installing Office2003! I also think that installing VB6 might cover it too, but I never tried that and I only mention it as an alternative because I think it is free?
 

Offline boggo2300

  • Registered
  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 808
  • Thanked: 10 times
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #1 on: October 26, 2009, 11:51:50 PM »
I was having identical issues with my install on Vista, I had it working fine, then for various reasons deleted my game directory (where the dll was) and couldnt get it working again.  I have found however that not all copies of the file are the same, the one I had that worked with Vista wouldnt work on XP and visa versa, Later this week I'm going to try an install on 7 and see what version of the file that likes
The boggosity of the universe tends towards maximum.
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Posts: 6470
  • Thanked: 816 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #2 on: October 27, 2009, 11:19:26 AM »
I can't really help with this problem I am afraid. I still using XP64 on my development machine and XP Pro on my games machine. I haven't even used Vista yet, let alone Windows 7. I am something of a luddite at times with software :)

Steve
 

Offline Beersatron

  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 976
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #3 on: October 27, 2009, 12:30:52 PM »
Quote from: "Steve Walmsley"
I can't really help with this problem I am afraid. I still using XP64 on my development machine and XP Pro on my games machine. I haven't even used Vista yet, let alone Windows 7. I am something of a luddite at times with software :)

Steve

I think you can bundle the dll with your full installation, but in my research I did find what boggo mentioned - there are sometimes 32bit and 64bit versions of a dll and the 32bit wont work on a new 64bit installation.
 

Offline boggo2300

  • Registered
  • Rear Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 808
  • Thanked: 10 times
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #4 on: October 29, 2009, 04:03:50 PM »
OK, got Aurora working nice on 64-bit Windows 7, all you need to do is install as per usual, and copy a 64-bit version of msstdfmt.dll into the aurora directory, AND run Aurora as administrator, this works on 64-bit Vista as well, I've attached the file that I'm using (hope thats ok)

Oh and if you put the dll in the game directory don't use regsvr32 to register it!
The boggosity of the universe tends towards maximum.
 

Offline jfelten

  • Lieutenant
  • *******
  • Posts: 187
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2009, 04:00:20 AM »
Quote from: "Steve Walmsley"
I can't really help with this problem I am afraid. I still using XP64 on my development machine and XP Pro on my games machine. I haven't even used Vista yet, let alone Windows 7. I am something of a luddite at times with software :)

Steve

I think most of us are very thankful for your Ludditeism Steve.  I strongly suspect it is a lot easier for people with vista/7 etc. to get XP software working than the other way around.
 

Offline Trajan

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #6 on: February 08, 2010, 07:31:18 PM »
Quote from: "boggo2300"
OK, got Aurora working nice on 64-bit Windows 7, all you need to do is install as per usual, and copy a 64-bit version of msstdfmt.dll into the aurora directory, AND run Aurora as administrator, this works on 64-bit Vista as well, I've attached the file that I'm using (hope thats ok)

Oh and if you put the dll in the game directory don't use regsvr32 to register it!

 Did all that, and the 713 error comes up when I use F9. Using Win 7 64 bit.
 

Offline Trajan

  • Able Ordinary Rate
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #7 on: February 08, 2010, 08:05:47 PM »
Never mind. I downloaded and installed a little program called "Simple Shutdown Timer" which has that dll. http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-shutdown-timer
 Now, F9 works.
 

Offline AndonSage

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #8 on: April 03, 2010, 06:21:17 AM »
Quote from: Trajan
Never mind. I downloaded and installed a little program called "Simple Shutdown Timer" which has that dll. http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-shutdown-timer
 Now, F9 works.
I was getting the 713 error on MSSTDFMT.DLL and used your suggestion and it worked just fine. Thanks  :)
BTW, did you try un-installing the Simple Shutdown Timer and see if Aurora still doesn't generate the error? Just wondering.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2010, 06:01:21 PM by Erik Luken »
"You can have peace. Or you can have freedom. Don't ever count on having both at once." - Robert A. Heinlein
"Just because you do not take an interest in politics doesn't mean politics won't take an interest in you!" - Pericles (430 B.C.)
"A government big enough to give you everyt
 

Offline Starkiller

  • Lt. Commander
  • ********
  • Posts: 210
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2010, 11:32:26 PM »
Yeah, I uninstalled the Timer and Aurora still worked.  :)
« Last Edit: October 25, 2010, 06:00:47 PM by Erik Luken »
 

Offline bulletstop

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #10 on: September 03, 2010, 04:47:56 PM »
That did it for me, thanks.





Bullet
 

Offline shalis

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Thanked: 1 times
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #11 on: September 25, 2010, 07:13:46 PM »
Never mind. I downloaded and installed a little program called "Simple Shutdown Timer" which has that dll. http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-shutdown-timer
 Now, F9 works.

I love you  ;D

and you too Steve for killing away countless hours of my time, thank you for a great game.
 

Offline Steve Walmsley

  • Aurora Designer
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Posts: 6470
  • Thanked: 816 times
    • View Profile
    • http://www.starfireassistant.com
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #12 on: September 28, 2010, 06:51:11 AM »
I just upgraded my PC and I am now running Aurora on Windows 7, albeit in the VB6 dev environment. The taskbar preview feature of Win7 is very useful for Aurora. One slight problem that I haven't figured out yet is that Windows keeps changing the default directory so every time I start the program it can't find the Access DB. Eventually I added a line of code to set the right directory but that won't work out so well for everyone else :) I assume this can't be a problem for the exe file though or every Win7 user would have it. I'll need to sort it out before v5.30 :)

Steve
 

Offline Charlie Beeler

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1381
  • Thanked: 3 times
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #13 on: September 28, 2010, 07:09:46 AM »
I just upgraded my PC and I am now running Aurora on Windows 7, albeit in the VB6 dev environment. The taskbar preview feature of Win7 is very useful for Aurora. One slight problem that I haven't figured out yet is that Windows keeps changing the default directory so every time I start the program it can't find the Access DB. Eventually I added a line of code to set the right directory but that won't work out so well for everyone else :) I assume this can't be a problem for the exe file though or every Win7 user would have it. I'll need to sort it out before v5.30 :)

Steve

I'm not a Windows power user in a any flavor, but.... have you tried making an ODBC entry for your database?  I needed to do this when I switched to OpenOffice so that it knew where to find the Access version of Stevefire.  I'm still in XP Pro, so I don't know if this is still in Win7.
Amateurs study tactics, Professionals study logistics - paraphrase attributed to Gen Omar Bradley
 

Offline Garfunkel

  • Commodore
  • **********
  • Posts: 703
  • Thanked: 27 times
    • View Profile
Re: Windows 7 installation issues
« Reply #14 on: January 16, 2012, 01:20:14 PM »
Never mind. I downloaded and installed a little program called "Simple Shutdown Timer" which has that dll. http://www.pcwintech.com/simple-shutdown-timer
 Now, F9 works.

Sweet trick, thanks, works flawlessly!
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51