Author Topic: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?  (Read 1499 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Ayeshteni

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« on: April 14, 2016, 09:24:51 AM »
http:i. imgur. com/wubGgih. jpg

Started a game with random jump points in Sol.     Ended up with three, which is fine.     All three were dead ends.     Went into SM and added a JP.     Dead end.     Added another.     Dead end as well.       

Any way to fix, or do I need to start again?

Edit: Really doesn't want me to show the picture, gave up trying.   

Aye.       
« Last Edit: April 14, 2016, 09:33:08 AM by Ayeshteni »
 

Offline Trafalgar

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2016, 10:04:03 AM »
You can attach your image instead, like so:

(I don't have an answer, because I don't play Aurora - someone I know linked this thread and I just happened to have an account here for some reason)
 

Offline 83athom

  • Big Ship Commander
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1190
  • Thanked: 79 times
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2016, 04:03:21 PM »
If you set a system as unsurveyed in the System View (F9) you can resurvey the jump points and possibly find a new undiscovered one (usually won't find more after 2 surveys). You can also circle the system with a ship that has active sensors and pick up a Jump Gate that is floating around.
Give a man a fire and he's warm for a day, but set fire to him and he's warm for the rest of his life.
 

Offline Ayeshteni

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2016, 09:08:21 PM »
Alas no, didn't work (unless I am exceedingly unlucky), done as you said and resurveyed 4 out of the five non-Sol systems, all came up the same (only 1 JP).   Somewhat suspect it just means you resurvey the system but the JP number remains the same (unless, as I said, I am exceedingly unlucky). 

P. S.  thank you Trafalgar for posting the piccy.  :)

Aye. 
 

Offline Andrew

  • Registered
  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2016, 05:15:36 AM »
I think in SM mode on the system details screen in the Jump points tab you can add a jump point with one of the buttons. But I don't have Aurora available to check here
 

Offline DIT_grue

  • Sub-Lieutenant
  • ******
  • Posts: 131
  • Thanked: 14 times
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2016, 06:39:45 AM »
I think in SM mode on the system details screen in the Jump points tab you can add a jump point with one of the buttons. But I don't have Aurora available to check here

True, but the OP has already done that twice. And resurveying will only help if someone else has blundered in from outside.

It's almost certainly just a run of bad luck - all I can recommend is to keep placing new JPs until they take off on their own.
 

Offline Andrew

  • Registered
  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2016, 04:27:40 PM »
I am not talking about resurveying.
System Generation and Display screen, Jump Points tab beneath the list of Jump points is ADD JP. This adds a new JP to the ones in the system . Must be in SM Mode of course
 

Offline Ayeshteni

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2016, 09:06:00 PM »
Quote from: Andrew link=topic=8551. msg89714#msg89714 date=1460842060
I am not talking about resurveying.
System Generation and Display screen, Jump Points tab beneath the list of Jump points is ADD JP.  This adds a new JP to the ones in the system .  Must be in SM Mode of course

Andrew, DIT_grue is correct.  I know what you are saying, but I have done that.  I had three JPs originally, and they were all dead ends.  So I added a JP like you stated - it was a dead end.  I added another, it was a dead end too.  83athom suggested a way to resurvey (which I did), but it seems it just allows you to resurvey the same JPs (unless an NPR has broken though, I suspect).

I have since added another JP (from Barnard Star), but I can't tell if that has worked or not since there are Precursors in the new system (Alpha Centauri) which blew my scout up and made short work of my fleet (in under 4 minutes 30), but at least I have a bit of fun ahead of me.  :D

Aye.
 

Offline Andrew

  • Registered
  • Commander
  • *********
  • Posts: 361
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #8 on: April 17, 2016, 04:09:12 AM »
I fail to understand what is not being understood here.

I just tested this
In system A I click add JP , I then survey and explore the JP it connects to system B, System B is not one I have ever visited before, so I survey that and it has 3 JP one back to B and the other 2 to sytems C and D I have never visited before.

So adding a new JP works to break deadends and allow you to continue exploring.
Either somehow I misunderstnad the question in which case I apologise for wasting your time or this is less obvious to others than it is to me. Either is possible

PS I got invaders in the 2nd system I added, I should have started a test game
PS2 It probably helps to tick the 'Force New' tick boc
« Last Edit: April 17, 2016, 04:18:25 AM by Andrew »
 

Offline Ayeshteni

  • Leading Rate
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #9 on: April 17, 2016, 08:00:15 AM »
Only that I had a run of bad luck (the two JPs I added both led to dead ends).  The third led to precursors, but yes once cleared out I hope this system has more than one JP.

P. s.  My sincere condolences due to your uninvited guests.

Aye.
 

Offline Frick

  • Petty Officer
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Thanked: 2 times
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2017, 10:26:53 AM »


At generation I set the Sol jump points to 1, and well... I sort of want to build up Krikkit-like warfleet that will engulf the galaxy when someone accidentally discovers another JP leading here.
 
The following users thanked this post: Drgong

Offline Tor Cha

  • Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • *****
  • Posts: 82
    • View Profile
Re: Unfortunate bubble of space. Any way to fix this?
« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2017, 11:39:07 AM »
If and i do mean if You keep running into dead ends, go into SM mode, Make a few Systems( does not matter ( unless you want the Systems to be good)) and after 3-6 Systems go back to one of your dead ends, go to the Jump point Area, Add a Jump point. Connect it to one of the New Systems.

Unless you really Having a Really Horrible  Day/Week/Month, that Should give you enough Systems to No be Dead ended. If it Happens
Again. Start a New Game. I have ran into this 2-3 times Before, it has to do with the way the the Systems & warp/jump points are generated.  It May have something to do with the Math of the Generation or a Option that is/was clicked.

If you have the Same Problem, Delete the Game, Bookmark the Aurora Site, reboot or Shut down. 4-8 Hours + Later Down load the Game Again.
I know drastic Solution, But it takes care of any Possible Remnants of the game/games that May be Messing with the Game running like it is Meant to. 

 
 

 

Sitemap 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51