Author Topic: Good beginners game setting  (Read 2600 times)

Offline Passero (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • P
Good beginners game setting
« on: June 01, 2014, 04:41:29 AM »
I'm very new to this game, only found out about it a couple of days ago.
Watched a couple of let's play tutorials on youtube but I cannot seem to find a proper starting point for a beginner like me. 

I'm mainly in doubt about the trans newtonian and conventional setting.  I understand what it does but I was just wondering if I will miss much of the fun when starting directly with the trans newtonian stuff. 
I started a game with trans newtonian and than one with a conventional and the conventional seems a bit boring in the beginning.  Maybe it's not that good for a beginner?
But then. . .  Will I miss much from the game mechanics when I get plenty of resources and research done for me? Is it better to struggle through the first years and start conventional so I at least learn about it or is that not really required?

I've also read it's better to start with 0 NPR's in the beginning (definitly when going with a conventional empire) because they start with trans newtonian stuff and might be way ahead of me and faster :)
But that was based upon 5. 0 so not sure if that still applies on 6. 4

Any other settings that should help me as a beginner? Not that I want a tea party in the galaxy, I want some challenges but I also want some time to learn about the mechanics and get an easy start. 

Offline PSI

• Chief Petty Officer
  • P
Re: Good beginners game setting
« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2014, 01:27:47 PM »
If you're still trying to get a feel for the game...

1. Turn on the Conventional Empire setting. With the Trans-Newtonian setting, a lot of things will have already been done for you, such as certain techs researched. Sure, NPRs you discover will be stronger than you, but it also helps you to get a better grip on the game.