Author Topic: Sleepy-time military?  (Read 3398 times)

Offline WCG (OP)

• Warrant Officer, Class 2
  • W
Sleepy-time military?
« on: September 04, 2015, 09:40:15 AM »
We all have different interests. I can talk about computer games or science fiction novels until your ears bleed and you beg for release. But when someone keeps talking to me about... oh, sports or guns, for example, my eyes glaze over and I quickly start praying for death (and I'm an atheist!). We're all different, and that's great.

Now, I'm just a beginner here, but Aurora is really something. The exploration, the colonization, the research, the minutia of mining and manufacturing and - again - the research, keep me interested and engaged. But as soon as I start trying to design a military ship - or even a defensive base around the Earth - I get so sleepy, I can't keep my eyes open.

I quit my first game and started over, because I hadn't realized that I was supposed to start with some initial research and a few ships. (Also, I hadn't understood the value of colonies even where there weren't any Trans-Newtonian minerals.) I know I've got some initial points for a Planetary Defense Center, and given that I've discovered aliens in the very first solar system I visited, right next door to us, I know that I should have some kind of defense. But I can't keep my eyes open long enough to build something.

I thought I'd put missiles on the defense center, but I have to design missile engines first, and when I get to the missiles, I have absolutely no idea what range is effective, or what size makes sense, or anything else. There are a million different options I could choose, but I have no idea what's stupid and what isn't. I've been reading the wiki and various posts here, but I get partway through an explanation and I suddenly have to take a nap.