Author Topic: Error 94  (Read 3938 times)

Offline umiman (OP)

• Leading Rate
  • u
Error 94
« on: January 31, 2010, 04:29:51 PM »
Hello,

Ever since I started playing this game, I've been getting this Error 94 every time the game tries to assign an officer to one of the ground forces. The full error text is:

Error in GetCommanderName
Error 94 was generated by Aurora
Invalid use of Null

I'm running Aurora 4.9.1, there are only 4 ranks for the ground forces and all of them have non-duplicate names. Each of the ranks has at least one officer.

Once every year or so, the game will try to refresh and reinstate all the current ground forces officers. This then spams me with error messages, and with about 100 ground officers, I have to click the error box 100 times.

Any idea what's going on?

Offline Father Tim

• Vice Admiral
Re: Error 94
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2010, 07:52:43 AM »
Well, the 100 errors once a year thing is caused by the 'Automated Assignments' checkbox on the F4 'Officers' screen - Aurora is considering each of your officers one at a time, and assigning them to the slot they are best suited for.  If you uncheck the box then you'll only have to deal with the errors when you manually assign an officer.

As to the error itself, a similar thing used to pop up all the time when an officer's name contained an apostrophe (').  As a result those names were removed from the database.  Even so, take a minute to look through your list for one.

Offline umiman (OP)

• Leading Rate
  • u
« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2010, 04:34:50 PM »
Yeesh, no apostrophes?

That's a hella lot of names.

Thanks!

Offline Erik L

• Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021