Author Topic: Multi threading in VB6 (not multi coring)  (Read 3200 times)

Offline Beersatron (OP)

• Gold Supporter
  • Rear Admiral
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
Multi threading in VB6 (not multi coring)
« on: December 12, 2011, 09:41:40 AM »
Not sure if Steve already does something like this and also not sure how much work it would be for him to enable it in certain aspects of the code.

I know that VB6 can not be spread amongst multiple cores, but it can run multiple asynchronous threads. Now, how it handles them performance wise is something my very quick google search didn't bring up but I thought I would start a thread since I know there are a few other VB coders on here that may have came across it. I am not a VB coder.

I found this whilst googling.
http://www.vbaccelerator.com/home/VB/Code/Libraries/Threading/Multi-threading_using_classes_in_ActiveX_EXEs/article.asp

Thoughts?

*edit*
To clarify, I am suggesting multi threading in the instances were a function takes a long time to execute, not when a function takes a lot of resources to execute. This of course all depends on the interaction between objects, so you can not have two missile salvos in separate threads since salvo A may affect the result of salvo B.

Hope you get the jist!
« Last Edit: December 12, 2011, 09:45:51 AM by Beersatron »

Offline SpecialK

• Petty Officer
  • S
Re: Multi threading in VB6 (not multi coring)
« Reply #1 on: January 04, 2012, 07:50:20 PM »
Multi threading is a pain in the butt to code in applications that run in a linear fashion in VB6. In Aurora's case, things happen chronologically. Spreading them out across cores doesn't really work because X happens, then Y happens... and firing off a lot of worker threads to handle that kind of interaction isn't really a good idea because you're working with a single user's perception of time rather than serving multiple snapshots of the state of the database to multiple users.