Author Topic: Getting the game to run question  (Read 1155 times)

Offline vonduus (OP)

• Sub-Lieutenant
  • This is your captain speaking
Getting the game to run question
« on: October 18, 2012, 05:36:28 AM »
Hi guys and gals.  I hope I put this post in the correct thread, if not, please enlighten me :)

Problem: Version 6. 0 will not generate a world. 

I am on Win7-64, dual-core; the game files are on my desktop, vcredist is up to date and I followed the installation instructions to the letter:

I downloaded and installed version 554 onto my desktop, unzipped the 554 patch and put it in the aurora folder, erasing two files in the process, then I started up, and a new world was generated, as expected.  I checked some screens and played a few turns and I believe that the game works as expected.  I am a total newbie, so I really don't know.  But it didn't crash on me, I had contact and could write things and I had no error messages.

I then saw there was a version 6. 0, downloaded it and installed it according to the instructions.  Now the game will not finish generating a new world.  I get the first message (that my civ is created, and that the game will now create the other civs, and that it will take a few minutes).  I click OK, and the game starts generating again.  I can hear something is happening on my hd. 

After 28 minutes I force quitted, de-installed everything (ie.  I placed the aurora folder in the trash and emptied it) and then I redownloaded and re-installed from scratch.  Same result: The patched 554 version generates a new world pretty fast, but the 6. 0 version takes literally forever.  I left it running during the night, but it still wasn't finished this morning.