Author Topic: Fiction  (Read 2020 times)

Offline Erik L (OP)

• Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Fiction
« on: November 24, 2010, 03:28:51 PM »
A recent post struck me and I wanted to make a comment about it.

As far as I am concerned, and I hope the authors agree here, all copyrights of the fiction belong to the individual authors. Under US copyright law, the first publishing of a work sets the copyright. It is also my understanding that electronic publishing such as this counts. However, I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on TV or anyplace else.

If anyone is concerned about their copyright rights, I'd suggest speaking with a lawyer about it. And I will definitely work with anyone towards securing their rights.

Offline Beersatron

• Gold Supporter
  • Rear Admiral
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
Re: Fiction
« Reply #1 on: November 24, 2010, 04:21:56 PM »
That reminds me about something I saw mentioned on a private forum I am part of.

unfortunately I can not remember the original article or what search term to use in Google to get the information but the gist of is was something like:

If you quote in full an article or piece of work from one site to another without the express permission of the original author then the host of the site you are reposting on can be prosecuted.

Now, I may have that wrong so maybe double check it, but the keywords that I think I remember are that the host can be prosecuted and not necessarily the person who copied it over.

It may help (or it might not ...) if you have some kind of disclaimer that as host you accept no responsibility for quoted articles?

Offline MattyD

• Warrant Officer, Class 2