Author Topic: New here, already experiencing troubles  (Read 1744 times)

Offline Cypress (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • C
New here, already experiencing troubles
« on: August 01, 2009, 05:42:47 PM »
I just started playing the game, and haven't really gotten into it enough to know anything about playing.
But that's alright, I figure. If I can figure out Dwarf fort, I can figure out this.
And so I go to the empires menu, and see an option "System information"
I click it, figuring this would be a logical starting place
I get an error
"Error 713 generated by aurora
Class not registered
You need the following file to be installed on your machine: msstdfmt.ddl
Please report this problem blah blah blah"
Ok, I say to myself, I know what Sol looks like, I'll soldier through this. Class design. Build me a ship, I can do this
Ok, it appears I can't enter the name for my class...but that's ok! It's got a type selector!
I select ship, as I would prefer to build a ship.
"Error 381 was generated by aurora
invalid property array index
please report this problem..."
Fine...I'll just click ok and
"error 3078 was generated by DAO.database"
Uh...
"Error 91 was generated by aurora"
Jesus Christ, I just clicked ship on the drop down menu!
"Warning!! Selecting this option will remove some systems from your design! Do you wish to continue?"
I click no, and leave the class design stuff behind. As I leave I note that the game automatically changed my ship type to PDC.
I try to start a research project. Maybe my problem is that my people haven't researched lobbing tin cans into space.
It tells me that it's researching lasers, which is fine and good. I enjoy zapping people as much as the next man, and I tell them to make it so.
"Error was generated by aurora"
Oh come on!
I am running a vanilla XP laptop, and I followed the instructions of the forum exactly...and I do not know what to do.