Author Topic: Space Master Function  (Read 1680 times)

Offline greywolf (OP)

• Leading Rate
  • g
Space Master Function
« on: January 28, 2010, 11:50:10 AM »
If these issues have been discussed already, please point me to the right thread - I couldn't find it.

I'm fairly new to Aurora, have played the great tutorial, made a few experiences of my own, and now I'm wondering what the impact on the game of using the SM functions is.
My initial understanding was that it's some kind of cheating. But reading a number of forum posts (and the tutorial), it seems to be fairly common to use it for researching techs, for adding ships and for what-have-you, even by experienced players.
Next idea: It's a tool to get into the game quickly, to save time to build and research all the basic stuff, rather than putting it in the research and shipyard queues, advancing time for a couple of years or so (no idea how long it really would take), until it's all done. Maybe also a tool to create your own starting point(s), as you can set up your game(s) (using SM) in the way you want it (or them), then save the database(s) and then restore them rather than always starting a new game from scratch.

Fair enough. Two questions:

- Is there a point at all in NOT using SM? Or does not using SM early in the game simply mean boring years of micromanagement (in terms of game time) before you can start the game "properly"? I see a point for doing this (not using SM) from a role-playing point-of-view. You take over responsibility for the fate of your empire, and have to live up to the challenges. This includes researching base technologies, developing your economy, designing and building ships, starting small, before you can eventually grow - which may take quite a while, just like in real life.