Author Topic: Portable installation  (Read 4046 times)

Offline goredoom (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • g
Portable installation
« on: October 07, 2011, 07:03:47 AM »
Hello,
I am new to this game and i would like to bring it to work where i dont have internet or admin access to install it.  I can just zip the whole install and unzip the archive there.  But the game wont start since the . ocx files are not installed.  Any idea how i can make the installion portable to an usb key and play it?
thanks in advance.

Offline Brian Neumann

• Vice Admiral
Re: Portable installation
« Reply #1 on: October 07, 2011, 10:04:17 AM »
A long time ago I heard of a couple of people who installed the program onto their usb drive.  They had to do it on the computer they were going to use at the office so this may not work for you.  This was back in the days of Starfire Assistant.  It should still work as the basic setup is the same but we are talking 5-7 years and computer design/software has changed so it may not work any more.

Brian

Offline oleg

• Petty Officer
« Reply #2 on: October 07, 2011, 12:30:46 PM »
I run it now from a dropbox folder, so I don't need to keep track of my usb stick but can switch from desktop to laptop!

Offline skeolan

• Leading Rate
  • s
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2011, 01:52:06 PM »
The installer drops a bunch of dll and ocx files into your %systemroot%\system32 directory, so it's not very portable unless you can identify and move all the requisite system files into the root directory where the executable lives and add that to your system path on the target machine:

e. g.

Code: [Select]
set path=%path%;C:\games\Aurora\
cd C:\games\Aurora
Aurora.exe

That would instruct your machine to include the game's directory in the list of places it looks for the system files; however, if you don't have admin rights on the machine I'm guessing this approach is out of the question too.