Author Topic: Question on Troop Transports  (Read 1170 times)

Offline Lunaticus (OP)

• Leading Rate
  • L
Question on Troop Transports
« on: October 10, 2010, 08:32:16 PM »
Hi!
I am quite new to this fantastic game and enjoying it thoroughly.  Took me three tries to understand the basics but now after digging through the forum and wiki I am finally off and away colonizing the Solar System and a litle bit beyond.  This is my first post and I just want to say many thanks to Steve for this great & outstanding game.  Still looking forward to my first combat encounter. . .
Got one question where I would be very thankful for some advice by the experts after not having found much by searching:
I wanted to transport some Engineering Brigades around to help building stuff (and to explore how this works).  I found out that my first attempt at a troop transport for this task was too small to fit a whole Brigade so I designed a larger one.  However I was really unsure on whether my troop transport should be a civilian ship or a military design? As with the resized larger Troop Transport Bays the Transport would be large anyway I thought it would be far more efficient to design it with civilian engines, avoiding maintenance troubles and also aligning much better with my shipyards' capabilities.  However all Troop Transport designs I found where military designs.  So am I missing something? Any advice appreciated.

Code: [Select]
Baltimore Mk 2 class Troop Transport    18,000 tons     148 Crew     548.6 BP      TCS 360  TH 472  EM 0
1311 km/s     Armour 3-61     Shields 0-0     Sensors 1/1/0/0     Damage Control Rating 1     PPV 0
Maint Capacity 19 MSP    Max Repair 40 MSP
Troop Capacity: 5 Battalions   

Ion Engine E0.88 (3)    Power 157.5    Fuel Use 8.8%    Signature 157.5    Armour 0    Exp 1%
Fuel Capacity 50,000 Litres    Range 56.8 billion km   (501 days at full power)

This design is classed as a Commercial Vessel for maintenance purposes

Offline UnLimiTeD