Author Topic: Civilian Shipping Lines  (Read 2864 times)

Offline RottenBanana (OP)

• Petty Officer
  • R
Civilian Shipping Lines
« on: October 18, 2012, 02:01:46 AM »
I'm having an issue with a civilian trade ship.  I set up a contract to deliver construction factories to a colony, but the freighter just sits at Earth with the tag: [Move to Earth Trade Location] Distance: 0k ETA: 00:00:00.  I just started playing yesterday so I'm still very new to the game.  Anybody know where the problem may originate from?

Offline tryrar

• Sub-Lieutenant
  • t
Re: Civilian Shipping Lines
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2012, 02:52:28 AM »
did you set up earth as A source of factories?

Offline telegraph

• Sub-Lieutenant
  • t
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2012, 05:33:46 AM »
there are currently a few bugs in regards of civilian shipping lines. I know these:
1. line will not create any ships if you do not have two inhabitable colonies (Earth is one and you need to move some infrastructure somewhere to make second.).
2. civillian shipping lines try to satisfy the demand, i.e. if you create a demend for infrastructure somewhere but not supply - chances are that civillian freighters will cycle around your trade locations as if they were looking where to get that governmental infrastructure (civilian infrastructure does not satisfy the demand). And even if you create supply and demand for something else (factories for example) the freighters will ignore it and will continue their pointless cycles in search for infrastructure.

You have most likely either screwed up the contract settings(demend, but no supply; supply, but no demand; messed up destination and source...) or experinced 2. (some other product have demand set, but does not have a proper supply).

Offline sloanjh

• Global Moderator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
« Reply #3 on: October 18, 2012, 09:09:00 AM »