Author Topic: Do you guys use SM mode?  (Read 3492 times)

Offline Antmf (OP)

• Petty Officer
  • A
Do you guys use SM mode?
« on: January 08, 2014, 08:53:53 PM »
Or is it considered cheating to a certain extent? I am a noob and been watching youtube video's and some did use others did not? What is recommended for a noob? Thanks.   .   .

Offline Erik L

• Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
Re: Do you guys use SM mode?
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2014, 09:39:43 PM »
I use it all of the time since I mess with mineral amounts, research items and such all of the time. So it's easier to just have it on than try to remember to turn it on or off.

Offline Nathan_

• Pulsar 4x Dev
  • Commodore
  • N
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2014, 10:03:55 PM »
It is an admin tool that can be used for cheating, not an explicit cheat in and of itself. Ultimately it is up to you to decide what to do with it, I'd say that as long as you aren't giving yourself techs(barring the free starting techs for a TN start), free production, or doing ship refits on the fly constantly then you are ok.

Offline Five

• Warrant Officer, Class 1
  • F
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2014, 10:23:53 PM »
It is in all how you use it. Depending on how I RP it I usually use it when starting a game to set things up the way i want. Stuff like adding a ruin on Mars or something to make it a RP element. I have also had games were i didn't want to research designs so after i got a new tech i could design the parts and do the instant research on that part, i have read that alot of people do this. It is almost always on for me though as after i set up my game i typically just leave it on.

-Five

Offline Ted B Schuler II

• Leading Rate