Author Topic: Automines on Asteroids and Comets?  (Read 1990 times)

Offline CaiusIuliusCaesar (OP)

• Petty Officer
  • C
Automines on Asteroids and Comets?
« on: January 26, 2021, 06:28:08 PM »
Dear community,

I am new to Aurora 4x and it really got my attention due to EnterElysium's current videos, to be perfectly honest.  I've got a question regarding asteroids which are marked as colonies.  Can automines be used on them or do I need to build ships with special mining modules? For some reason, my freighters brought the mass driver without issue, but they refused to carry over the automines. . .

Thanks a lot in advance!

Offline TheTalkingMeowth

• Captain
  • T
  • Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
Re: Automines on Asteroids and Comets?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2021, 06:38:51 PM »
Dear community,

I am new to Aurora 4x and it really got my attention due to EnterElysium's current videos, to be perfectly honest.  I've got a question regarding asteroids which are marked as colonies.  Can automines be used on them or do I need to build ships with special mining modules? For some reason, my freighters brought the mass driver without issue, but they refused to carry over the automines. . .

Thanks a lot in advance!

Yes, you can use automines on anything. The special mining modules ONLY work on small bodies (asteroids, comets, some moons), and are cheaper than automines, but if you have automines you should be able to drop them on the body.

Offline liveware

• Bug Moderators
  • Commodore
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2021, 06:57:35 PM »
Note that the morning modules can be much more effective than automines as the modules can be built into ships/space stations which can in turn be built at commercial shipyards which can churn out shops vastly faster than construction factories.
Open the pod-bay doors HAL...

Offline Droll