Author Topic: Accessability suggestions form a new player  (Read 2535 times)

Offline Teiwaz (OP)

• Petty Officer
  • T
Accessability suggestions form a new player
« on: March 27, 2011, 05:23:28 PM »
I just started playing this weekend, and have found myself in over my head a few times.  (And I don't care what the Dwarf Fortress players say, your UI is much better. ) I just had some suggestions that should be easy, but make life easier for new players.

1.  Resource abundance multiplier.  In my first game, I spent a lot of time blocked waiting for various things (shipyard retooling, critical research, designing new components, etc. ) The result is that I was completely screwed when Earth started running out of key minerals and I didn't have the infrastructure in place to set up an alternative source.  A resource abundance multiplier (as in, a constant multiplier to minerals every time they're generated or discovered - not a multiplier to how fast you dig them, just how much is on a given body) in the game creation settings would let you play a slower-paced game without so much expansion pressure while you're trying to learn your way around, and gain enough experience to see problems before they land in your lap.  It would also be handier for multiplayer games if you have multiple players in the same system (like your NATO vs.  Soviet Union campaign) or if you just wanted to play a game with less difficult to manage inter-system sprawl.  (In general, I'd prefer it if the Sol system was emphasized more.  If I discover minerals on Titan, I know what that means, and it's cool.  If I find minerals on "Lalande 1842-A VII Moon 6," it's not nearly as interesting. )