Author Topic: Help with old ships  (Read 2095 times)

Offline Shadowfire95 (OP)

• Able Ordinary Rate
  • S
Help with old ships
« on: August 24, 2014, 12:56:31 AM »
Hello, I recently started playing and had a fair deal of fun simply watching lets plays and reading through the wiki.  I started my first game and I am doing rather well, I have scouted out most of the solar system and went to send automines / mass driver to a very attractive location when I encountered a problem.  My cargo ships were horribly designed and stupid me thought 100 km/s would be fast enough to reach the outer solar system.  I also forgot to tell the crew they would likely be gone 36 months instead of 3.  Realizing this problem I recalled the ships to earth and fixed the designs, which included resizing the ships to be smaller and designing better engines and of course informing the crew of proper departure / arrival times (fixing the months expected to be departed to 36). 

Now here is where I encountered a problem.  Refitting the old ships to the new design is 500% the cost of simply building new ships.  That said, What on earth do I do with the old ones? the "Destroy" button warns of a wreckage which would, as far as I know, cause problems for anything sharing an orbit with them.  It would also cheat me of the resources used to build the ships.  Do I send the ships to a useless celestial body for destruction and laugh at the helpless crew stuck aboard? Or do I use the "delete" button which will also steal the resource costs? Is there any way to retrieve the resources put into those ships? I know its minimal but cmon man I spent ages preparing for those ships, would be nice to at least get the resources back.  Also I enjoy the roleplay aspect of this game and find it abysmal that a resource starved humanity would simply detonate old/stupid-to-refit ships and scoff at recycling.