Author Topic: 2.4 Suggestions  (Read 8562 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline SteveAlt

  • Global Moderator
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Thanked: 8 times
(No subject)
« Reply #60 on: December 04, 2007, 01:49:16 PM »
Quote from: "sloanjh"
Hi Steve,

More on the subject of commanders:

I find I'm micro-managing commanders too much - every time I get a new one out of the academy with a decent bonus I'm sorting through already-occupied commands looking for someone to replace.  It occurs to me that what I'd like to be able to do (most of the time) is filter on commanders who have had a full "tour of duty" in a particular command slot, and treat them as potential replacees.  There several ways that I can think of that you could put this in - the bad news is that I think all of them will require adding a "date of assignment" field to the DB.

The first idea is a simple (optional) filter on the F4 screen that highlights any potential assignments whose commander has been assigned longer than X months as "unassigned" (grey).  I would have said a third color, but it looks like you've only got two in the box (white and grey). :-)  This lets you go through unassigned officers with high modifiers and decide who best to replace.

A complementary idea would be to allow the player (not SM) to set a tour length in the racial characteristics screen and then (optionally) send an event in the update cycle where a commander's time in command crosses the threshold.  (Update cycle to avoid generating a ton of event interrupts.)  This lets you notice that you've got an underperformer in a particular command slot, and allows you to replace him or her with a better officer from the pool.  The problem with this one is that it will tend to generate an event per command slot per tour length, which could end up being hundreds of events per year.

In either case, you would probably also want to have a "Kirk button" - some way of giving a second (or third, or fourth, or ... :-) ) tour to an officer in his current command slot.

I also find myself having to micromanage officers so I have been thinking about various ways to handle your suggestion, especially as it overlaps a slightly different idea I have been considering, which is having Aurora handle most command assignments automatically. Your idea of a "tour" would help that idea because I was wondering how to handle in-post officers. Perhaps Aurora could regularly look at unemployed officers and try to assign them to either vacant command slots or those occupied by officers who have completed their "tour". Any officers who had to leave their command to make way for someone else would be handled in the next round (5 days later) of command assignments, or perhaps later in the same round (see below). The way I was considering handling this would be as follows:

1) Officers could be flagged as manually assigned, so Aurora would ignore them for automatic assignment (this covers the Kirk situation and a few others)
2) All ship classes would be ranked, probably by Rank Required then PPV, then cost.
3) Fighter Squadrons would be ranked by Rank Required and Fighter Cost
4) Ground Units would be ranked by Type: Heavy Assualt, Light Assault, etc.
5) Aurora would then follow a step by step process of assignment, looking at different assignments and finding commanders to fit them

One possible ordering would be:
1) For each vacant command slot (including those with an incumbent who has finished his tour) for a ship of R3 or above, a list of commanders with sufficient rank and a crew training above zero would be created in descending order of training rating. Assuming the highest available had a training rating equal to or higher than the existing commander, he would be given the assignment. Although perhaps that restriction shouldn't exist or some commanders might never move to a larger ship. As someone left a command slot, they could be included in the list of possible commanders for the next command slot (or more likely they should be excluded until the next round in 5 days in case they had been recently promoted and would be eligible to command a larger ship, which they couldn't do in the current assignment round because larger ships would have already been checked.)
2) Next the R3 fighter squadron commands would be handled the same way
3) Now the R2 ships
4) R2 Fighter Squadrons
5) Survey Ships, except this time the sort order is based on Survey Skill, followed by Crew Training
5) HQs for commanders with Ground Unit Training
6) Ground Units for commanders with Ground Combat
7) The various specialities (Terraforming, etc.)
8) R1 ships.

This wouldn't handle colonies, which have specialised requirements, or sectors. However, if you move someone into that type of command, Aurora would then find someone to fill their old job during the next round of assignments. That is a rough outline but how does that sound?

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by SteveAlt »
 

Offline SteveAlt

  • Global Moderator
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Thanked: 8 times
(No subject)
« Reply #61 on: December 04, 2007, 01:56:00 PM »
Quote from: "SteveAlt"
For each vacant command slot (including those with an incumbent who has finished his tour) for a ship of R3 or above, a list of commanders with sufficient rank and a crew training above zero would be created in descending order of training rating. Assuming the highest available had a training rating equal to or higher than the existing commander, he would be given the assignment. Although perhaps that restriction shouldn't exist or some commanders might never move to a larger ship. As someone left a command slot, they could be included in the list of possible commanders for the next command slot (or more likely they should be excluded until the next round in 5 days in case they had been recently promoted and would be eligible to command a larger ship, which they couldn't do in the current assignment round because larger ships would have already been checked.)

Rereading this, I realised I am over complicating the above. Far easier to handle is that once an officer completes a tour, they would automatically be unassigned and go into the pool for the next round of assignments. In that way, I don't have to worry about replacing in-post officers, checking ratings against incumbents or promotion to larger classes. That would all happen by itself using the automatic assignment system.

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by SteveAlt »
 

Offline SteveAlt

  • Global Moderator
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Thanked: 8 times
(No subject)
« Reply #62 on: December 04, 2007, 01:58:15 PM »
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
Standardize the names of Compact ECCM and ECM. One is called Compact, the other is (c).

Done. They are now Compact ECM and Compact ECCM.

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by SteveAlt »
 

Offline Erik L

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5654
  • Thanked: 366 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
(No subject)
« Reply #63 on: December 04, 2007, 01:59:11 PM »
One thing I'd like to see (and this may or may not happen depending on how you did it), would be configurable ranks for ground/fighter units.

Or maybe (and this would add a crapload of complexity), a Marine officer pool. Marine officers would be eligible only for ground/fighter commands (and governorships/sector commands). Naval officers would be eligible only for ship commands and governorships/sector commands. Of course, one would need a Marine Training Academy too ;)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Erik Luken »
 

Offline SteveAlt

  • Global Moderator
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Thanked: 8 times
(No subject)
« Reply #64 on: December 04, 2007, 01:59:35 PM »
Quote from: "Brian"
Could we have some way of scrapping shipyards.  Even if it is just a button to delete them when in SM mode it would be usefull.  I like to set up scenarios with specific restrictions on different races.  One restriction can be a lack of shipyards.

I have added some new SM mods for shipyards for v2.5, including deleting them.

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by SteveAlt »
 

Offline Erik L

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5654
  • Thanked: 366 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
(No subject)
« Reply #65 on: December 04, 2007, 02:08:28 PM »
Quote from: "SteveAlt"
Quote from: "SteveAlt"
For each vacant command slot (including those with an incumbent who has finished his tour) for a ship of R3 or above, a list of commanders with sufficient rank and a crew training above zero would be created in descending order of training rating. Assuming the highest available had a training rating equal to or higher than the existing commander, he would be given the assignment. Although perhaps that restriction shouldn't exist or some commanders might never move to a larger ship. As someone left a command slot, they could be included in the list of possible commanders for the next command slot (or more likely they should be excluded until the next round in 5 days in case they had been recently promoted and would be eligible to command a larger ship, which they couldn't do in the current assignment round because larger ships would have already been checked.)
Rereading this, I realised I am over complicating the above. Far easier to handle is that once an officer completes a tour, they would automatically be unassigned and go into the pool for the next round of assignments. In that way, I don't have to worry about replacing in-post officers, checking ratings against incumbents or promotion to larger classes. That would all happen by itself using the automatic assignment system.

Steve


I hope tour length would be configurable. And it most likely should only occur if a ship is docked. Wouldn't be good to remove the captain of a ship that's just about to assault the fleet of the Evil Aliens.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Erik Luken »
 

Offline SteveAlt

  • Global Moderator
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Thanked: 8 times
(No subject)
« Reply #66 on: December 04, 2007, 02:09:05 PM »
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
Or maybe (and this would add a crapload of complexity), a Marine officer pool. Marine officers would be eligible only for ground/fighter commands (and governorships/sector commands). Naval officers would be eligible only for ship commands and governorships/sector commands. Of course, one would need a Marine Training Academy too ;)

There might be a way to handle this without the extra complexity of separate officer corps. Its a little bit of a fudge (well, a lot actually) but I'll make the suggestion anyway.

All officers remain in one pool and get trained by the Naval Academy. If they have a ground combat rating, they are classed as Marines and get a Marine rank (one major pain would be defining all the Marine Rank structures for every theme). You could filter Marines and non-Marines on the officer window, seeing just Naval Officers (using naval ranks), just marines (using marine ranks) or combined (using naval ranks). They would still have their correct rank shown as part of their name in all views. Marines would only be eligible in the areas you mentioned above and naval officers could not command ground units. This would fit in easily with the automated assignments I suggested in another post.

There would only be one overall command structure though and marines and naval officers would effectively compete against each other for promotion. It depends whether you just think it would be cool to see Colonel O'Neill commanding a Division or a Fighter Squadron (which the above would allow) or you want to see an entirely separate military structure, which is far, far more complex.

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by SteveAlt »
 

Offline SteveAlt

  • Global Moderator
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Thanked: 8 times
(No subject)
« Reply #67 on: December 04, 2007, 02:10:32 PM »
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
I hope tour length would be configurable. And it most likely should only occur if a ship is docked. Wouldn't be good to remove the captain of a ship that's just about to assault the fleet of the Evil Aliens.

Tour length would be configurable and that is a good idea about only relieving commanders while in dock. I should also mention this whole idea only works if you are using the "Assign Anywhere" option for commanders.

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by SteveAlt »
 

Offline SteveAlt

  • Global Moderator
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Thanked: 8 times
(No subject)
« Reply #68 on: December 04, 2007, 02:20:48 PM »
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
One thing I'd like to see (and this may or may not happen depending on how you did it), would be configurable ranks for ground/fighter units.

Its possible. I assume you mean ground units by type and I guess fighters by individual squadron?

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by SteveAlt »
 

Offline Erik L

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5654
  • Thanked: 366 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
(No subject)
« Reply #69 on: December 04, 2007, 02:22:58 PM »
Quote from: "SteveAlt"
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
One thing I'd like to see (and this may or may not happen depending on how you did it), would be configurable ranks for ground/fighter units.
Its possible. I assume you mean ground units by type and I guess fighters by individual squadron?

Steve


Well... Most ground units I build get R3 ranks... I'd like to reserve R3/R4 for HQ, then move the rest down. Similar for fighter squads. Maybe R2 for them.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Erik Luken »
 

Offline SteveAlt

  • Global Moderator
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Thanked: 8 times
(No subject)
« Reply #70 on: December 04, 2007, 03:19:26 PM »
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
Well... Most ground units I build get R3 ranks... I'd like to reserve R3/R4 for HQ, then move the rest down. Similar for fighter squads. Maybe R2 for them.

At the moment, fighter squadrons of 18 fighters or less are R2 and squadrons with 19 or more fighters are R3. It's probably easiest just to make all fighter squadrons R2 anyway, regardless of the number of fighters. I'll do that for v2.5.

As far as ground units go, HQ are currently R3, Heavy Assault and Assault Infantry are R2, Mobile Infantry, Garrison and Engineer are R1. I have changed them within the last few weeks so if you are seeing a lot of R3 ground units in version 2.41, I must have changed them since that was released.

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by SteveAlt »
 

Offline Erik L

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5654
  • Thanked: 366 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
(No subject)
« Reply #71 on: December 04, 2007, 03:40:51 PM »
Quote from: "SteveAlt"
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
Well... Most ground units I build get R3 ranks... I'd like to reserve R3/R4 for HQ, then move the rest down. Similar for fighter squads. Maybe R2 for them.
At the moment, fighter squadrons of 18 fighters or less are R2 and squadrons with 19 or more fighters are R3. It's probably easiest just to make all fighter squadrons R2 anyway, regardless of the number of fighters. I'll do that for v2.5.

As far as ground units go, HQ are currently R3, Heavy Assault and Assault Infantry are R2, Mobile Infantry, Garrison and Engineer are R1. I have changed them within the last few weeks so if you are seeing a lot of R3 ground units in version 2.41, I must have changed them since that was released.

Steve


I want to say the Assault units are R3 at the moment.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Erik Luken »
 

Offline SteveAlt

  • Global Moderator
  • Rear Admiral
  • *****
  • Posts: 820
  • Thanked: 8 times
(No subject)
« Reply #72 on: December 04, 2007, 03:47:44 PM »
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
I want to say the Assault units are R3 at the moment.

I must have modified them since v2.41 then. How do the newer rank requirements sound?

Steve
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by SteveAlt »
 

Offline Erik L

  • Administrator
  • Admiral of the Fleet
  • *****
  • Posts: 5654
  • Thanked: 366 times
  • Forum Admin
  • Discord Username: icehawke
  • 2020 Supporter 2020 Supporter : Donate for 2020
    2022 Supporter 2022 Supporter : Donate for 2022
    Gold Supporter Gold Supporter : Support the forums with a Gold subscription
    2021 Supporter 2021 Supporter : Donate for 2021
(No subject)
« Reply #73 on: December 04, 2007, 03:52:01 PM »
Quote from: "SteveAlt"
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
I want to say the Assault units are R3 at the moment.
I must have modified them since v2.41 then. How do the newer rank requirements sound?

Steve


About what I was planning on doing myself :)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Erik Luken »
 

Offline Charlie Beeler

  • Registered
  • Vice Admiral
  • **********
  • Posts: 1381
  • Thanked: 3 times
(No subject)
« Reply #74 on: December 04, 2007, 03:58:28 PM »
Quote from: "SteveAlt"
Quote from: "Erik Luken"
Well... Most ground units I build get R3 ranks... I'd like to reserve R3/R4 for HQ, then move the rest down. Similar for fighter squads. Maybe R2 for them.
At the moment, fighter squadrons of 18 fighters or less are R2 and squadrons with 19 or more fighters are R3. It's probably easiest just to make all fighter squadrons R2 anyway, regardless of the number of fighters. I'll do that for v2.5.

As far as ground units go, HQ are currently R3, Heavy Assault and Assault Infantry are R2, Mobile Infantry, Garrison and Engineer are R1. I have changed them within the last few weeks so if you are seeing a lot of R3 ground units in version 2.41, I must have changed them since that was released.

Steve


I was wondering about that.  I've built some light carriers that had squadrons of only 5 fighters with squadron commanders that out ranked the ships commander.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 06:00:00 PM by Charlie Beeler »
Amateurs study tactics, Professionals study logistics - paraphrase attributed to Gen Omar Bradley