Author Topic: Why is this written in VB6? Why are there limited graphics?  (Read 6767 times)

Offline Steve Walmsley (OP)

• Aurora Designer
  • Star Marshal
  • S
Why is this written in VB6? Why are there limited graphics?
« on: February 06, 2010, 12:45:08 PM »
Common questions are why is Aurora written in such an old language and why can't you see spacecraft blowing each other up in full technicolour.

It's a long story but back in the mists of time when I was a commercial C++ programmer, I was asked to do some programming in Visual Basic 3, which I had never seen before. I was asked to "learn it as you go along". There were a couple of VB programmers there who were helpful and regretfully I wasn't very complimentary about this new language, describing it as "programming for the under-fives" and, once I found out that you had to type "Unload Me" to close a form, "programming in Wonderland". Eventually, I did realise that while it wasn't as powerful as C++, you could get things done very quickly. To learn the language more fully, I started a program of my own called Starfire Assistant to help me play a board game called Starfire. Starfire was an pre-computer 4x game, designed during the 70s by Steven V Cole (of SFB fame). I started playing at second edition. Third edition was designed and written by David Weber (Honor Harrington, etc.)