Aurora 4x

Aurora => Aurora Chat => Topic started by: Drgong on January 22, 2018, 06:51:30 PM

Title: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Drgong on January 22, 2018, 06:51:30 PM
Many times I have questions that are not worth to make their own thread, but I figured it might be useful to have a thread where people can ask the random silly questions and then leave the door open for the next person to ask.

Or it might be that I feel like a idiot.

How do you rename a system or a planet?   Is it the system view window or somewhere else.   I know you can do it but I completely forgot!  ???
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: JacenHan on January 22, 2018, 07:27:53 PM
It is at the bottom of the System View and the Economics window, along with a variety of other options. If your monitor is too small it might have gotten cut off.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: smoelf on January 23, 2018, 03:34:14 AM
That is a good idea. Especially since this thread: http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php?topic=8185.0 (http://aurora2.pentarch.org/index.php?topic=8185.0) turned into such a thread with freely flowing questions and answers, so a new thread might help separate questions from general basic advice.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Drgong on January 24, 2018, 01:29:30 PM
Here is a another question.

If you are making a two stage missile, and you have the 2nd stage already produced, does it pull the 2nd stage from the stockpile, or produce a new one?

Curious as I have a lot of soon to be very obsolete AMMs and was thinking if I could covert them to cheap mines they might be still useful.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Steve Walmsley on January 25, 2018, 04:42:25 AM
Here is a another question.

If you are making a two stage missile, and you have the 2nd stage already produced, does it pull the 2nd stage from the stockpile, or produce a new one?

Curious as I have a lot of soon to be very obsolete AMMs and was thinking if I could covert them to cheap mines they might be still useful.

Produces a new one.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Drgong on January 25, 2018, 05:57:08 PM
Produces a new one.

Thanks, and thanks for stickying this!
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: sloanjh on January 26, 2018, 07:40:25 AM
Thanks, and thanks for stickying this!

You're welcome :)

John
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Drgong on January 29, 2018, 04:55:21 PM
Here another one that the answer might be useful to a lot of people.

Is there any way  you can copy the fire control setup across a entire class.  For example, if I want the entire class lasers to be connected to a specific fire control, is there a way to do so, or do I need to manually program in say, 20 FAC fire controls? 
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Dr. Toboggan on January 29, 2018, 08:39:51 PM
Is there any way  you can copy the fire control setup across a entire class.  For example, if I want the entire class lasers to be connected to a specific fire control, is there a way to do so, or do I need to manually program in say, 20 FAC fire controls?

In the Combat Assignments Overview, there should be a "Copy Race" button under "Copy Assign" that will do it.  You can also do it TG and System wide.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Drgong on January 29, 2018, 10:14:16 PM
In the Combat Assignments Overview, there should be a "Copy Race" button under "Copy Assign" that will do it.  You can also do it TG and System wide.

I played this game for years and never got what that screen did.  Dear lord how did I play without that.   ??? :o :o :o :D
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: TCD on January 30, 2018, 10:33:16 AM
I played this game for years and never got what that screen did.  Dear lord how did I play without that.   ??? :o :o :o :D
They are very handy but worth double checking things a few times as you those assign all features. I find it very easy to click things in the wrong order and end up firing with one ship instead of the twenty I was hoping for. Which can be painful.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Arekonator on March 16, 2018, 06:18:06 AM
So, i designed 30kt cruiser to be used as jump ship for my carrier groups.  In process of padding to reach the desired tonnage i added space for two marine companies, two improved cargo handling modules  and hangar with 1kt shuttle which can insert one of them at whooping 48000km/s. 
My question is: i know there is command to load the marines into the shuttle drop pods while being at the same TG.  But since its docked in during the process, can i keep moving around in meantime? Or does it stop the entire TG.  Can i at least use the missile battery? And how do i unload them back into cruiser if i end up not using them? And how long does it take, is it viable to load them during engagement?
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Garfunkel on November 22, 2019, 12:19:47 PM
All loading/unloading processes will stop the ship and if one ship stops, the whole TG stops. Nothing actually happens until the time delay has run out. But in your case, beware of the infamous double-parasite problem, though I'm not sure if it happens with ground units.

Basically, if you have a fighter docked at a carrier, and then that carrier docks at a space station (or whatever), the fighter vanishes because VB6 Aurora cannot handle multiple layers of parasites.

Now, I don't know if that is a problem with ground units, because I've always used separate ships - one is the comfortable troop transporter that does the long trips and another is the fast landing ship that does combat drops, and the ground unit gets transferred from A to B at a planet/asteroid near the target.

I think I've seen AAR's where players have done what you describe but I'm not 100% sure and of course it's always possible that they launch the assault shuttle first, then transfer the marine company over.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: xenoscepter on November 22, 2019, 06:13:37 PM
Can my Missile FCS aquire a target via passive sensors?
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Garfunkel on November 22, 2019, 07:15:23 PM
Can my Missile FCS aquire a target via passive sensors?
No, you need active sensors to see the target for that. The active sensors can be on another ship or on a PDC and those can be in a different TG or even a different TF.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Father Tim on November 23, 2019, 12:37:35 AM
Can my Missile FCS aquire a target via passive sensors?
No, you need active sensors to see the target for that. The active sensors can be on another ship or on a PDC and those can be in a different TG or even a different TF.

Your MFC can, however, fire missiles at a waypoint (and therefore a colony)1 without sensors.  If your missiles have sensors of their own, they will search for a target when they get to the waypoint.

- - - - -

1  To target the colony, you need to set the waypoint to move with the planet / moon / asteroid.

Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: xenoscepter on November 23, 2019, 01:44:19 AM
Can I tug a wreck to a space station orbiting my planet that is equipped with a Salvage Module for salvaging?
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Father Tim on November 23, 2019, 02:19:51 AM
In VB 6 Aurora you can't move wrecks in any way.  In C# Aurora, it is currently under debate (but seems like you will be able to tow wrecks around).
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: xenoscepter on November 23, 2019, 04:23:35 PM
If I want to build a Prefab PDC that requires 37 components, do I queue up 37 Prefab PDC of the type, or just one?

In other words, does the Prefab PDC function create 37 components per PDC I queue up, or 1 Prefab Component of the PDC I queue up per item?
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Hazard on November 23, 2019, 07:19:12 PM
IIRC, an entire PDC is produced per order, so that would be 37 components in total.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Silvarelion on November 25, 2019, 07:09:44 AM
TIL:

Having one ship in a fleet with damaged/destroyed engines will degrade the rest of the fleets ability to maneuver and degrade the performance of hull mounted final fire point defense. 

(Thought this was a decent place to put something like this)
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Garfunkel on November 25, 2019, 11:45:16 AM
Whoa, are you absolutely sure of that? Damn, if it is true, then hopefully Steve can fix it for C#!
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Father Tim on November 25, 2019, 12:22:15 PM
Fix it?  Fix what?

Ships with damaged/destroyed engines lose speed.  This is not a bug.  Squadrons move at the speed of their slowest ship.  This is not a bug.  Beam weapon accuracy can be -- depending on design -- limited by the mounting unit's max speed.  This is not a bug.

If a ship that mounts basically fixed guns loses maneuverability, it has a harder time aiming.  This is both logical and desired behaviour.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Garfunkel on November 25, 2019, 12:41:38 PM
For overall movement speed yes of course but for determining whether a weapon hits or not, then I'd argue that it is not the intended goal, as the ships that have, on purpose, slowed down, can move easily enough to dodge/avoid incoming fire. There is, after all, no acceleration/deceleration in Aurora.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Hazard on November 25, 2019, 02:30:21 PM
For overall movement speed yes of course but for determining whether a weapon hits or not, then I'd argue that it is not the intended goal, as the ships that have, on purpose, slowed down, can move easily enough to dodge/avoid incoming fire. There is, after all, no acceleration/deceleration in Aurora.
There is, however, such a thing as the ability to predict where the enemy is going to be at a given moment of time, and in Aurora, the difficulty of making that prediction accurately corresponds with the target TG's maximum speed. Higher speed targets are harder to predict.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Silvarelion on November 26, 2019, 05:40:37 AM
Fix it?  Fix what?

As long as FF PD can protect other task groups that are in the same position, then I have no problem with the behaviour at all.  One of my scout ships got hit by a leaker, and fell out of formation.  I brought the task group back to protect it and added it back into that task group.  My PD accuracy was then halved for the next salvo.  Needless to say, a lot more damage was done.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Garfunkel on November 26, 2019, 11:45:11 AM
Well, it'll make Area Fire more important now that I'm aware of the issue. I used to always re-attach damaged ships to ensure that they get Final Fire defence unless I was actively trying to outrun the enemy.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: xenoscepter on December 19, 2019, 06:36:36 PM
In VB6 Aurora v7.10, can I achieve Missile Lock without an Active Sensor if I have:

 - [At least] One Missile Fire Control

 - A waypoint to target

 - A Passive Sensor on the missile being fired at said waypoint

... and obviously something at that waypoint to shoot AT.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Father Tim on December 19, 2019, 11:26:00 PM
In VB6 Aurora v7.10, can I achieve Missile Lock without an Active Sensor if I have:

 - [At least] One Missile Fire Control

 - A waypoint to target

 - A Passive Sensor on the missile being fired at said waypoint

... and obviously something at that waypoint to shoot AT.

Yup.
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Marski on December 19, 2019, 11:33:29 PM
Does the damage from a kinetic (no warhead) missile impact increase with size?
Title: Re: Questions not worth their own thread
Post by: Jorgen_CAB on December 20, 2019, 02:59:12 AM
Does the damage from a kinetic (no warhead) missile impact increase with size?

They really do no damage at all, missiles probably really don't actually "impact" a ship as colliding with it as detonating very close to it for the most part.